View Full Version : Anyone get a PM from recroomguy?
Netko350Z 12-22-08, 05:08 PM Just got a PM from member "recroomguy" asking if he can use my basement pics for his on-line publication.
Just wonder what his story is. He just joined today.
Netko(wants to make sure there isn't something shady going on)
Weasel9992 12-22-08, 05:12 PM I don't have an answer to the actual question, but I just wanted to say...WOW. I'm a huge sucker for quality workmanship...and that is some fine work. Nice job.
Frank
Netko350Z 12-22-08, 08:50 PM Well he answered back...looks legit.
http://www.recroomguide.com/
Netko350Z 12-22-08, 08:51 PM I don't have an answer to the actual question, but I just wanted to say...WOW. I'm a huge sucker for quality workmanship...and that is some fine work. Nice job.
Frank
Thanks I appreciate the kind words. :D
smakovits 12-22-08, 08:55 PM I got something from something similar, I dont think it was the exact same guy but I didnt respond. I didnt like it. I read some stories on the site and just was not sure, looked legit, but you know how that goes in 2008. You can never know for sure.
Netko350Z 12-23-08, 12:50 PM I got something from something similar, I dont think it was the exact same guy but I didnt respond. I didnt like it. I read some stories on the site and just was not sure, looked legit, but you know how that goes in 2008. You can never know for sure.
http://mybroadband.co.za/photos/data/500/trap.jpg
Iusteve 12-23-08, 04:29 PM I read a little on this subject recently on another thread and the person who was contacted said that the sender wanted to use pics of their project for his website/company. The contacted person said absolutely not as this person wanted to post the images as "their" work. I would strongly advise against this as there are ALOT of scam artists out there today. You put ALOT of "your" time and $$$ into your project and the last thing you want is someone else to claim it as their own work to stimulate their business and or website.....My opinion only is DONT DO IT!!
Netko350Z 12-23-08, 05:37 PM Well if he hot-links any images I can just change what is contained in the file to pics from 2 girls 1 cup.
Pwn3d!
Iusteve 12-23-08, 06:05 PM Well if he hot-links any images I can just change what is contained in the file to pics from 2 girls 1 cup.
Pwn3d!
HAHA That is the most hilarious reference I have heard. I am one that got that sent to me from a "buddy" Needless to say hes not a "good" friend right?! I would be very skeptical, your work is just that "yours"!!! I wouldnt want someone taking my work and using it to build their website claiming it is their work. Just a heads up. Please dont bring up the "cup" anymore...anything but that
Dinger23 12-23-08, 07:47 PM Was he looking to take credit for the build or was he just looking for you to upload yuor pics in his gallery? Looks like he is just starting the website
HeyNow^ 12-23-08, 07:55 PM Not a bad web site. I wonder what the motivation is? Advertising $$$?
Hell, I keep getting PMs from some Iusteve guy :)... My Dinger-Ling ....My Dinger-Ling....all I want is my Dinger-Ling!
Probably isn't a scam, but the hotlinking photo switching thing reminded me of this gem back from 2006.
http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=260
HawkeyeJosh 12-23-08, 09:18 PM recroomguy PM'd me today asking as well. I don't think I'll object to it, but asked for a bit more information regarding his publication.
Iusteve 12-23-08, 10:34 PM Not a bad web site. I wonder what the motivation is? Advertising $$$?
Hell, I keep getting PMs from some Iusteve guy :)... My Dinger-Ling ....My Dinger-Ling....all I want is my Dinger-Ling!
Yea that IUsteve guy PMd me too....I learned the way to get him to leave you alone is respond to his messages as fast as possible then he will go away:p:D:rolleyes:
Iusteve 12-23-08, 10:35 PM Probably isn't a scam, but the hotlinking photo switching thing reminded me of this gem back from 2006.
http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=260
That is exactly what I was referring too. Just trying to help.:)
Dinger23 12-23-08, 11:48 PM Ok so I was bumping around recroomguy's site and I come across this.
http://www.recroomguide.com/blog/whats-in-a-name/
I thought he was talking about me except I have a poker table not a pool table. Plus I do call my room a man cave.
David Bott 12-24-08, 08:23 AM Hi All...
Got word of this PM action from a member and found this thread. While we do not like to see members contacted in such a way, as it really doos not seem to have any bases other that to gain content from this site for their own gain, it is up to you if you so choose to do so. We just really do not to see our site used this way of course.
Take care, keep safe, and happy holidays.
|