View Full Version : ready to by my first projector


scmmcd247
02-26-09, 03:29 PM
ok guys im ready after a lot of homework and ready to buy a dt-510 in the next few days So I have been looking at one at www.e-globalelectronicsnetwork.com but i cant find anything good or bad about them are they a ok company to buy from or are they like on time digital thanks Steve

checklst
02-26-09, 04:26 PM
The BBB is a first step in checking on a company.

I could not find a address for them on their site(I personally don't like that type of secret) Their area code on the phone number is NY....sorry but I am already getting a red flag feeling, but I could be wrong.

Keep checking them out.......after the BBB, a call to the NY states Attorney Generals office would be in order to see about any possable problems......you will need a physical address for this check usually.

Good Luck

Ops: forgot to add call Sharp and ask if they are a Dealer, in good standing with Sharp.

So far Tiger Direct is about 45 dollars more, and are much safer bet so far

gwlaw99
02-26-09, 05:53 PM
I tried that link and do not even see it for sale there, but try www.beachaudio.com Very reputable store and good price.

limulus
02-26-09, 07:15 PM
I agree. I don't like electronics sites that don't have an About Us section or their address. Also, I'm not NY bashing, but there are a lot of bad electronics dealers in NY who are not authorized dealers selling gray market items. There are also quite a few who remove included items and then gouge you if they ship it at all. There are also great sellers in the Apple, like B&H Photo.

Nillaz
02-26-09, 10:51 PM
I know nothing about this company one way or the other. The fact that no one else does either sends up huge warning signs. Out of curiosity I spent a few minutes trying to find out a little about them. A basic google search brings up essentially nothing. They are not listed with resellerratings. A whois query shows that their registrar is a proxy (literally, Domains by Proxy, Inc.), a reverse lookup on their listed telephone number comes back empty, and their listed contact is a gmail account, going to the CEO of the company.

Instead of following this any further I would simply pass and go with a more recognized dealer. The ones named by the other posters in this thread are a very good start. Also check out the forum sponsors, Amazon, ProView Digital, and Newegg.

scmmcd247
02-27-09, 12:51 AM
ok thanks yea i looked and couldnt find anything on them either. Though overstock might price match them what do you think? I guess its worth a shot as long as there a dealer. thanks Steve

Brown Radagast
02-27-09, 09:54 AM
X 2 B&H Photo. Bought my first Dalite HCMW screen from them at a great price a few years back - and as you can see, I live on the West Coast, so shipping rate was decent too. Screen arrived in perfect condition (but probably came directly from Dalite?). They've been sending me catalogs every year since then.