quantumstate
06-28-09, 10:23 AM
Just thought I'd warn ppl about these 419 scammers who have just contacted me. I'm selling an item on Videogon, and yesterday got the following email:
--- On Sat, 6/27/09, optionalcare2g9@ymail.com <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com> wrote:
From: optionalcare2g9@ymail.com <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com>
Subject: Videogon listing: xxx
To: xxx
Date: Saturday, June 27, 2009, 2:21 PM
TO: hydra
We are a swiss bases trade association and we specialize in procuring electronic gadgets on behalf of our clients worldwide.
We have an order for the xxxx and our client is willing to pay the sum of $1,250.00 for the above item.
Payment + shipment will be remitted to you as soon as you get back with the necessary details needed.
Regards,
Walter
============================
FROM: Buyersoption (a member)
RE:
You can hit the REPLY button to respond,
or copy this address: optionalcare2g9@ymail.com
View the Item listing:
http://cgi.videogon.com/cgi-bin/cl.pl?projdlpa&125026345
Member Lookup (Buyersoption):
http://cgi.videogon.com/cgi-bin/searchm.pl?Buyersoption&1&usid
Already SOLD this item?:
http://cgi.videogon.com/cgi-bin/u_sold.pl?projdlpa&125026345&s&zzclass
Check all of your activities in MyPage:
http://cgi.videogon.com/cgi-bin/mypage.pl
This email was sent by the Videogon system.
Sat Jun 27 15:21:47 2009
Well ymail is a Yahoo account, so what is an equipment retailer doing using that, and not their own domain? And why are they explaining themselves? Nevertheless I responded, suggesting Paypal. Today I got this email:
Re: Videogon listing: xxx
Saturday, June 27, 2009 11:55 PM
From:
This sender is DomainKeys verified
"walter smith" <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com>
Add sender to Contacts
To:
"_ _" <xxx>
Is so good to hear from you once again.A personal check will be mailed to you as stated in one of the options of remitting payment and you need not to bother with the shipping because we already have a shipper,so as to make the shipment of the goods ordered by our clients easier and faster.Get back to me with the precise amount and details of how it will b picked up so that payment can be remitted to you ASAP.
Hmm, there aren't any 'Smiths' in Switzerland.
Well, Videogon's emailing system obscures source IP address (first email), but Yahoo's doesn't, and he sent this second to me from (and to) a Yahoo account. Let's look at the headers:
Re: Videogon listing: xxx
Saturday, June 27, 2009 11:55 PM
From walter smith Sat Jun 27 21:55:18 2009
Return-Path: <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com>
Authentication-Results: mta169.mail.ac4.yahoo.com from=ymail.com; domainkeys=pass (ok); from=ymail.com; dkim=pass (ok)
Received: from 68.142.237.108 (HELO n1.bullet.mail.re3.yahoo.com) (68.142.237.108) by mta169.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sat, 27 Jun 2009 21:55:42 -0700
Received: from [68.142.230.28] by n1.bullet.mail.re3.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 28 Jun 2009 04:55:19 -0000
Received: from [67.195.9.83] by t1.bullet.re2.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 28 Jun 2009 04:55:19 -0000
Received: from [67.195.9.102] by t3.bullet.mail.gq1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 28 Jun 2009 04:55:18 -0000
Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp106.mail.gq1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 28 Jun 2009 04:55:18 -0000
Received: (qmail 11865 invoked by uid 60001); 28 Jun 2009 04:55:18 -0000
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=ymail.com; s=s1024; t=1246164918; bh=yiGkJgh7WIEbu8CuAbwRC8FDdi00sH3uVGgIfeEYMAg=; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:References:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=qdkKraO5hUpDqRdPwWjyy49BQDkXTFGY5gnLqIPS/8se88o1R7CBeh3wj693yARPfEobRLX8GRjsEXjo8qj015pcNvSC/IyAEHNyZTaG5vuckd1SdrqtDld2vL+ReIWHgTSQJ2w1HSPL8H2dSgi9Oqzjb qU2RGZP4r2w=
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=ymail.com; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:References:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=owWQqZTXlnzAPDov08/bqkJxCMgnQ5M0NtTihg0DPwDYks4jSghp3DL3p8WHZYmZRSGCA5FSQKrxTFx AAr/Sdd0Dpi1vmSqYlmdZqpEXjQtBbu1vLQ6XLUQng2O/aPpJd4UWZO3hYj+Gla1qMfzlnKUOZ/Z3Ix+4WLaBQ=;
Message-ID: <76916.11629.qm@web111902.mail.gq1.yahoo.com>
Received: from [41.219.210.110] by web111902.mail.gq1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Sat, 27 Jun 2009 21:55:18 PDT
References: <82664.24719.qm@web53303.mail.re2.yahoo.com>
Date: Sat, 27 Jun 2009 21:55:18 -0700 (PDT)
From: This sender is DomainKeys verified
walter smith <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com>
Add sender to Contacts
Subject: Re: Videogon listing: xxx
To: _ _ <xxx@yahoo.com>
In-Reply-To: <826604.2479.qm@web53303.mail.re2.yahoo.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-76346013-1246164918=:11629"
Content-Length: 6184
So now we know his IP address is 41.219.210.110 .
Fire up VisualRoute (unfortunately no longer a Linux version, although it is Java so should be retrofittable), and this traces to Lagos, Nigeria. The idea is he would send me a worthless check, presumably drawn on a gold-plated Swiss bank but poorly printed, and hope I ship the item before it bounces. If you've never heard of this crime gang do a search on '419 scam'.
--- On Sat, 6/27/09, optionalcare2g9@ymail.com <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com> wrote:
From: optionalcare2g9@ymail.com <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com>
Subject: Videogon listing: xxx
To: xxx
Date: Saturday, June 27, 2009, 2:21 PM
TO: hydra
We are a swiss bases trade association and we specialize in procuring electronic gadgets on behalf of our clients worldwide.
We have an order for the xxxx and our client is willing to pay the sum of $1,250.00 for the above item.
Payment + shipment will be remitted to you as soon as you get back with the necessary details needed.
Regards,
Walter
============================
FROM: Buyersoption (a member)
RE:
You can hit the REPLY button to respond,
or copy this address: optionalcare2g9@ymail.com
View the Item listing:
http://cgi.videogon.com/cgi-bin/cl.pl?projdlpa&125026345
Member Lookup (Buyersoption):
http://cgi.videogon.com/cgi-bin/searchm.pl?Buyersoption&1&usid
Already SOLD this item?:
http://cgi.videogon.com/cgi-bin/u_sold.pl?projdlpa&125026345&s&zzclass
Check all of your activities in MyPage:
http://cgi.videogon.com/cgi-bin/mypage.pl
This email was sent by the Videogon system.
Sat Jun 27 15:21:47 2009
Well ymail is a Yahoo account, so what is an equipment retailer doing using that, and not their own domain? And why are they explaining themselves? Nevertheless I responded, suggesting Paypal. Today I got this email:
Re: Videogon listing: xxx
Saturday, June 27, 2009 11:55 PM
From:
This sender is DomainKeys verified
"walter smith" <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com>
Add sender to Contacts
To:
"_ _" <xxx>
Is so good to hear from you once again.A personal check will be mailed to you as stated in one of the options of remitting payment and you need not to bother with the shipping because we already have a shipper,so as to make the shipment of the goods ordered by our clients easier and faster.Get back to me with the precise amount and details of how it will b picked up so that payment can be remitted to you ASAP.
Hmm, there aren't any 'Smiths' in Switzerland.
Well, Videogon's emailing system obscures source IP address (first email), but Yahoo's doesn't, and he sent this second to me from (and to) a Yahoo account. Let's look at the headers:
Re: Videogon listing: xxx
Saturday, June 27, 2009 11:55 PM
From walter smith Sat Jun 27 21:55:18 2009
Return-Path: <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com>
Authentication-Results: mta169.mail.ac4.yahoo.com from=ymail.com; domainkeys=pass (ok); from=ymail.com; dkim=pass (ok)
Received: from 68.142.237.108 (HELO n1.bullet.mail.re3.yahoo.com) (68.142.237.108) by mta169.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sat, 27 Jun 2009 21:55:42 -0700
Received: from [68.142.230.28] by n1.bullet.mail.re3.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 28 Jun 2009 04:55:19 -0000
Received: from [67.195.9.83] by t1.bullet.re2.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 28 Jun 2009 04:55:19 -0000
Received: from [67.195.9.102] by t3.bullet.mail.gq1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 28 Jun 2009 04:55:18 -0000
Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp106.mail.gq1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 28 Jun 2009 04:55:18 -0000
Received: (qmail 11865 invoked by uid 60001); 28 Jun 2009 04:55:18 -0000
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=ymail.com; s=s1024; t=1246164918; bh=yiGkJgh7WIEbu8CuAbwRC8FDdi00sH3uVGgIfeEYMAg=; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:References:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=qdkKraO5hUpDqRdPwWjyy49BQDkXTFGY5gnLqIPS/8se88o1R7CBeh3wj693yARPfEobRLX8GRjsEXjo8qj015pcNvSC/IyAEHNyZTaG5vuckd1SdrqtDld2vL+ReIWHgTSQJ2w1HSPL8H2dSgi9Oqzjb qU2RGZP4r2w=
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=ymail.com; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:References:Date:From:Subject:To:In-Reply-To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=owWQqZTXlnzAPDov08/bqkJxCMgnQ5M0NtTihg0DPwDYks4jSghp3DL3p8WHZYmZRSGCA5FSQKrxTFx AAr/Sdd0Dpi1vmSqYlmdZqpEXjQtBbu1vLQ6XLUQng2O/aPpJd4UWZO3hYj+Gla1qMfzlnKUOZ/Z3Ix+4WLaBQ=;
Message-ID: <76916.11629.qm@web111902.mail.gq1.yahoo.com>
Received: from [41.219.210.110] by web111902.mail.gq1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Sat, 27 Jun 2009 21:55:18 PDT
References: <82664.24719.qm@web53303.mail.re2.yahoo.com>
Date: Sat, 27 Jun 2009 21:55:18 -0700 (PDT)
From: This sender is DomainKeys verified
walter smith <optionalcare2g9@ymail.com>
Add sender to Contacts
Subject: Re: Videogon listing: xxx
To: _ _ <xxx@yahoo.com>
In-Reply-To: <826604.2479.qm@web53303.mail.re2.yahoo.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-76346013-1246164918=:11629"
Content-Length: 6184
So now we know his IP address is 41.219.210.110 .
Fire up VisualRoute (unfortunately no longer a Linux version, although it is Java so should be retrofittable), and this traces to Lagos, Nigeria. The idea is he would send me a worthless check, presumably drawn on a gold-plated Swiss bank but poorly printed, and hope I ship the item before it bounces. If you've never heard of this crime gang do a search on '419 scam'.