bsvends1
03-03-07, 08:52 AM
This ad you have on your site:
http://ads.adbrite.com/mb/text_group.php?sid=46377&col=3&br=1
puts SPYWARE in our computers, please remove ASAP!
Tom Sipher
03-03-07, 09:48 AM
Yep, over and above the spyware fact, the alarm pop-ups everytime I go to a new page are sending away from AVS today, I'll try again another day.
http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o85/WilburBudDark/PJ/Adware_03Mar07_AVS.jpg
tawilson
03-03-07, 11:18 AM
I asked about this in this thread yesterday and was assured that is a safe site.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=9926645#post9926645
And the alarms only come up on one of my computers.????
David Bott
03-04-07, 01:26 AM
Trend Micro needs to fix their software. Even sites that are reporting issues with that software run Adbrite ads. (Kind of funny) http://stuff.techwhack.com/archives/2007/02/11/trend-micro/
Someone needs to tell Trend Micro they are alerting when they should not be. Adbrite is used by a lot of sites. Check them out here... http://www.adbrite.com
Davinleeds
03-05-07, 08:49 PM
I use Zone Alarm with no alerts. Use firefox with no scripts extention and adbrite is listed and I can allow it or forbid. Looks like a matter of scripts and/or cookies. Avsads,2mdn.net,doubleclick.net,69.57.146.78, and google-analytics.com are listed. Sometimes cookies from these are identified as spyware, such as in Adaware and Spybot. Spysweeper is sensitive also.
undecided
03-06-07, 12:03 AM
Trend Micro needs to fix their software. Even sites that are reporting issues with that software run Adbrite ads. (Kind of funny) http://stuff.techwhack.com/archives/2007/02/11/trend-micro/
Someone needs to tell Trend Micro they are alerting when they should not be. Adbrite is used by a lot of sites. Check them out here... http://www.adbrite.com
I have been using Trend Micro Internet Security for years with no problems on this site - however in the last couple of weeks I have also been getting the same "Dangerous Site" message from Trend Micro Internet Security when visiting both Tivocommunity and Avsforums. The message says its a opening a dangerous site identified as http://ads.adbrite.com/mb/text_group.php?sid=46377&col=3&br=1
Trend Micro Internet Security recommends not visiting these sites as they are loading spyware onto your PC. Basically tivocommunity and avsforum are now unusable with Trend Micro Internet Security installed. Each page takes forever to open and generates a new "Dangerous Site" warning.
David Bott
03-06-07, 08:38 AM
One again, their issue and an issue for their user I am sorry for say for they seemed to have mislabeled it. ANYSITE with AdBite ads on it you would then get the error for.
Whether or not this is a problem with Trend Micro or Adbrite, I do have to say that it has caused my visits to the site to be slimmed down tremendously. Its a shame. While I understand the forum is kind of stuck between a rock and a hard place, I find it hard to believe that Trend Micro would be flagging adbrite without just cause. Playing on the side of being safer than sorry, I will have to continue minimizing my visits until this is cleared up. Not trying to be a jerk.
David Bott
03-13-07, 09:04 AM
Has anyone using Trend Micro even reported the fault to Trend Micro to look into? If not, you then really could only be hurting yourself when you do not care to visit sites you like. My bet is it was flagging for it uses a cookie that is used for ad tracking.
I did some scanning using Norton on the AVS website including the ads.
Found none.
JJkizak
03-22-07, 08:48 AM
I had the same problem with my Trend Micro on three computers. Don't know what happened but it is OK now.
JJK
David Bott
03-22-07, 04:41 PM
I put in a report with AdBrite and they contacted Trend Micro. That may have cleared up the issue.