View Full Version : Bestpricecameras.com and Sony HC7, experiences with the site?


markm75
04-16-07, 11:29 AM
I notice that they have the HC7 for $679.. this is at least $400 cheaper than anywhere else.. anyone had any experiences with this vendor?

http://www.bestpricecameras.com/prodetails.aspx?prodid=860050


Cheers

bhbest
04-16-07, 12:20 PM
Do yourself a favor and avoid them. They have no bizrate ratings or reseller ratings and anyone selling a cam for hindreds less than even the questionable retailers are are gonna take you to the cleaners.

Diggadonkey
04-16-07, 12:27 PM
I have no experience with this vendor, but my gut tells me to avoid them like the plague!

markm75
04-16-07, 12:48 PM
I probably will avoid them.. but if I did try them with a credit card.. I would think I would be protected if they sell me the wrong thing or dont ship it.. via the card company.. or perhaps not :)

Shakel
04-16-07, 01:03 PM
well.. if u read here:
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Infiniti_Photo_3

u probably wont even think about visit their website :)

Beware!

markm75
04-18-07, 10:35 AM
well.. if u read here:
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Infiniti_Photo_3

u probably wont even think about visit their website :)

Beware!

Thanks for that link.. I now check all sites through there..

I'm leaning now towards the canon HV20.. I found one for $829 online.. seems to good to be true, but checking your link, it doesnt sound like a horrible vendor though.

http://www.zoommania.com/2059b001.html

miglo
04-18-07, 11:11 AM
Once again, check reseller ratings on these guys. If the prices are too good to be true, it probably is.

markm75
04-18-07, 11:32 AM
Reseller ratings are fairly high from what I can see.

Carldalynx
04-18-07, 01:38 PM
My recommendation is to see if the page that shows the camera, etc. you want to buy also shows a lot of "kits" and accessories. Then see what the market price is for some of the accessories by doing a search. If the site's prices are way above market, you really know what you are in for. Probably a hard sell, a call back 2 days later, an "in stock" item that is suddenly on backorder, etc.

You can also keep an eye on some of the "deal" sites like fatwallet or slickdeals for legitimate stores that may be having sales, discounts or coupons. That is how I got my HV20 at a bricks and mortar store for $150 off.

toneman
04-18-07, 04:36 PM
Thanks for that link.. I now check all sites through there..

I'm leaning now towards the canon HV20.. I found one for $829 online.. seems to good to be true, but checking your link, it doesnt sound like a horrible vendor though.

http://www.zoommania.com/2059b001.html
Zoommania is notorious for offering such "low" prices on their products, but when you go place an order for one...it "mysteriously" shows as being out of stock or on backorder. But...the same product is available for immediate purchase if you buy it as part of a kit/bundle which may or may not contain accessories that you'd buy anyway, and/or are slightly overpriced.

danieljoelle
04-18-07, 04:49 PM
Don't forget that even if you successfully buy and receive a camcorder at a very low price from one of these companies the chances are that you just bought yourself a grey market camcorder from a non-authorized (Sony or Canon) dealer, which means your warranty might be void in the US.

galileo2000
04-25-07, 11:34 AM
One word: AVOID

David Susilo
04-25-07, 11:51 AM
run away screaming with both arms flailing in the air