AVS Forum banner
119K views 200 replies 78 participants last post by  Tryg 
#1 ·
After critically looking at these screens for over 5 days and taking over 200 pictures I must say this was one hard review. There are so many variables, they cannot all be covered here. In the end, it is important to try to achieve the greatest benefit for the environment or viewing you want to achieve. This review will focus on 5 high power screens surfaces and will include 3 lower power for reference only. The Lumenstar, which I was originally told was 5.8 gain was to be included in the high gain review, but did not turn out to be so. I would estimate it to be .58 gain, eliminating it from much comment. Also, I am not a professional reviewer. This review is for fun and therefore full of my observations and opinions. I did not use a Photometer to measure the gain, and I will try to present all information in understandable terms. My Camera is also not perfect or calibrated for color accuracy, however, all pictures are untouched and were taken from the same setting (not auto). Therefore you can use all pictures as references against themselves. I used 5 different lighting levels and pictures from 0 to 50 degrees off center. Three different ambient lighting sources were used(daylight, fluorescent and incandescent), and five different lighting levels. Virtually all pictures were taken in very tough(high) ambient lighting conditions to really put these products through the paces. I will try to be described when able. Now for the screens in order of brightness

High Power Screens

Vutec Silverstar - 9.5 Gain

Vutec Silverstar - 6.0 Gain

Da-Lite High Power - 2.8 Gain

Stewart Ultramatte - 2.75 Gain

Da-Lite Glass Beaded - 2.5 Gain

Lower Power Screens

Stewart Retro Grey - 1.6 Gain

Da-Lite Cinema Vision - 1.3 Gain see update

Stewart Firehawk - 1.3 Gain