Converting DVR to computer file... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-04-2008, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Dr Bonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello:

Please forgive me if this is a completely stupid question. I did a search and couldn't come up with exactly what I need.

I have a recording of a local news interview I did on my Time Warner DVR. Time Warner is reconfiguring our channel line up and when they do so, they say that there is a chance that (whatever they do remotely) we may cause us to lose some or all of our DVR recorded programs.

I want to save this interview and possibly transfer it onto my computer HD to upload onto a website or at least to YouTube so I can link to it.

Can someone please help me with this? I am pretty much a newb on this so be gentle!

Thanks so much.
Dr Bonz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-05-2008, 03:51 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The easiest way I've found is to hook a DVD recorder up to an analog (composite or s-video) output of the DVR, and re-record the interview in real-time on the DVD recorder, as you're playing it on the DVR.
bicker1 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-06-2008, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Dr Bonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to get it onto the HD of my computer without a DVD recorder? I don't have one.
Dr Bonz is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-07-2008, 03:35 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The DVR may have firewire output. I tried to get it working with my Comcast DVR and gave up. However, if you want to try that way, search the forums for DVR and firewire. You may want to start here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...postid=3818890
bicker1 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-09-2008, 05:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Dr Bonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote from the first post in that thread:

Quote:
This method does not allow you to transfer shows already recorded on your HD DVR only live TV.

Dr Bonz is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-09-2008, 05:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Dr Bonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any way to transfer the DVR recording onto VHS? If so, I could probably get it to my computer with that.
Dr Bonz is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-09-2008, 07:48 PM
Bob
Member
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hollywood, CA, USA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes.

Just connect the Tivo outs to the VHS ins. Then record the show to the VHS.

Not as easy to get a VHS into the computer as a DVD, but sounds like you know how to do that already.
Bob is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off