Series 3 vs HD vs SA box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-09-2008, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Wilf_Brim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks:
I'm going to throw this to you all, since I can't make up my own mind. I've just returned home after more than a year away. I got rid of the DVR when I left (housesitter wasn't interested). After listening to all the talk, I'm about ready to drop money on a Tivo. The local Cox rep on the phone said that CableCard was available and could be installed at any time (this without any doubletalk).

So, what do you all think: Series 3 or HD? I'm dropping 3 grand on a speaker/AVR upgrade, so sound quality will be a factor. But the Series 3 appears to be at EOL, and it is a significant amount of money for a relatively minor upgrade. I'll check back at tomorrow PM, and I'll probably go with the majority.
Wilf_Brim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-10-2008, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilf_Brim View Post

So, what do you all think: Series 3 or HD? I'm dropping 3 grand on a speaker/AVR upgrade, so sound quality will be a factor. But the Series 3 appears to be at EOL, and it is a significant amount of money for a relatively minor upgrade. I'll check back at tomorrow PM, and I'll probably go with the majority.

While I'm very happy with my Series 3 (which I purchased about a year and a half ago now, at original full price; no, still not sorry I did), at this point, I see no reason to avoid the TiVo HD. Given that eSATA is officially supported now (although only with officially supported drives on the TiVo HD without a bit of hacking), unless the somewhat larger internal drive, OLED display, or Glo remote really turns your head, the TiVo HD is a fine choice. The fact that you're considering a TiVo probably means you won't be satisfied at all with SA's DVR boxes (you don't mention it in the body, but I notice it in the subject).
demonfoo is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-10-2008, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Wilf_Brim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Before I left I had one of the Cox SA boxes. It was OK. Just OK. I never really had any problems with it. It tuned fine, and recorded what I wanted. Most of the time. There were some problems when watching one HD program while another was being recorded, or recording two at once.

It's just now the prices have come down on Tivos, the CableCard fiasco has pretty much worked itself out, and Cox has increased prices on the DVR service and box rental so I'd only be paying a few bucks more a month. The main thing that the SA boxes have going for them is convenience. I just take the old box to the office and pick up the DVR. Plug it in and it will (most likely) work. Don't have to deal with guying the Tivo, arranging service, figuring out how to get internet to the box, arranging for the installer, and praying everything works.

So, it seems like the HD is the way to go. Is there anything to the THX certification on the Series 3, or is that just a label on the box and not really something I'd notice?
Wilf_Brim is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-11-2008, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilf_Brim View Post

So, it seems like the HD is the way to go. Is there anything to the THX certification on the Series 3, or is that just a label on the box and not really something I'd notice?

It's probably not anything you'd notice; unless you have very high-end THX certified gear throughout your A/V system (I don't), it's probably not going to give you anything but warm fuzzies. (And of course, the startup video with the THX logo and sound; that is kinda cool...) It's just a certification about reproduction quality - and really, there are other links in the chain that matter more (especially if you're streaming DD audio to your receiver).
demonfoo is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-16-2008, 02:42 PM
Member
 
Henway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know if it's an issue, but anything with a CableCard is going to have a broadcast flag on. That means NO archiving. Used to archive racing on my Tivo2, but the exact same program won't through my Tivo3. Major disappointment. But that's the price of getting HD...
Henway is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-16-2008, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henway View Post

Don't know if it's an issue, but anything with a CableCard is going to have a broadcast flag on. That means NO archiving. Used to archive racing on my Tivo2, but the exact same program won't through my Tivo3. Major disappointment. But that's the price of getting HD...

Um... I think you've misunderstood entirely. That depends vastly on your provider; CCI (copy control) flags *can* prevent you from downloading some shows, depending on how your provider sets them. However, my provider actually doesn't set CCI 0x02 (copy once) or CCI 0x03 (copy never) on any programs; I download shows from HDnet, HBO, and other stations with impunity - 720p, 1080i, whatever. Really, it's about the best deal going - there's no other DVR which will let you do that at all. (And IEEE1394 madness barely counts, just because of the complexity of making it work ever - assuming your provider can be bothered to follow that particular mandate.)
demonfoo is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off