How can I archive HD content from Tivo S3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-11-2008, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mchad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Tivo S3 and there are a couple of recordings that I NEED to archive on to Blu-Ray or just onto my PC. They are irreplacable, and while they are fine on my Tivo for now, I know someday the HD will crap out and they will be gone. And I can't allow that.

So I have been looking at componant video capture cards, which in conjunction with a blu-ray recorder on my PC look like they could do it, but I was hoping for some advice/recommendations from the experts here...

I don't want to say "money is no object" because of course it is, but the value of keeping these recordings in HD is really worth spending a few $$$...

Any suggestions/experiences would be appreciated.

(Note: This only for archival purposes and for my viewing. Not looking to do anything crooked!)
mchad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-11-2008, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Do you have your TiVo attached to your home network for Internet access, so it can get guide and software updates? If so, good. You can actually download entire episodes (as long as the cable company isn't flagging them as "copy once" anyway) via any Web browser, or using the TiVo Desktop software if you're running Windows. If you're using a Mac, you can use the 'tivodecode' program to decode the downloaded video, or the TiVoDecode Manager software to combine download and decoding. Alternatively, you can use the NowPlaying Dashboard applet, which also combines downloading and decoding. You can then watch the downloaded content using VLC (QuickTime won't recognise an MPEG-2 program stream, or Dolby Digital audio).

Anyway, you need to do the following:

* Go to your account on tivo.com, and make sure transfers are enabled. You need to do this to have your TiVo generate a Media Access Key.
* On your TiVo, press the TiVo button, then select "Messages & Settings", "Account & System Information", "Media Access Key". You may have to wait a bit for this to show up if you just enabled transfers - it has to collect enough entropy to generate this value. Copy it down - it'll be 10 numeric digits.
* On a Mac, you can go to 'https://dvr-NNNN.local/' in your browser, where NNNN is the last 4 digits of your TiVo Service Number. When you're prompted for a login, enter a username of 'tivo', and use the Media Access Key as the password, or install the TiVoDecode Manager or NowPlaying Dashboard applet. On a Windows machine, you should get the TiVo Desktop software (available from tivo.com).

Hope that helps you.
demonfoo is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-11-2008, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mchad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, It is networked, and your solution sounds excellent! What file format does it save the programs?
mchad is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 06-12-2008, 03:45 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do note that I have had continuing problems trying to get HD programs archived to PC back onto the TiVo for viewing. There is apparently some bug that affects some customers.
bicker1 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-12-2008, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchad View Post

Yes, It is networked, and your solution sounds excellent! What file format does it save the programs?

The video is MPEG-2, the audio is either MPEG-1 layer 2 or Dolby Digital (depending on whether the program was recorded from an analog or digital source), and wrapped in an MPEG-2 program stream wrapper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

Do note that I have had continuing problems trying to get HD programs archived to PC back onto the TiVo for viewing. There is apparently some bug that affects some customers.

I've not had any problems getting HD content onto my TiVo personally, for what that's worth.
demonfoo is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-12-2008, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mchad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonfoo View Post

The video is MPEG-2, the audio is either MPEG-1 layer 2 or Dolby Digital (depending on whether the program was recorded from an analog or digital source), and wrapped in an MPEG-2 program stream wrapper.



I've not had any problems getting HD content onto my TiVo personally, for what that's worth.

Ok, so I am set up with a media key, and I can browse to my Tivo, but once there, there is no way to download media? Can you explain how to pull the video via a browser?

Thanks!
mchad is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-12-2008, 01:28 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There should be a download link to the right. Either that or it'll say "protected" (or "folder", in which case you can click there and go down a level in the directory structure).
bicker1 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-16-2008, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mchad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still can't get the browser access to work, but no matter, as I installed the desktop application. Now I have the files on my PC (excellent). Next problem, I am trying to use Nero Vision to create a SD DVD (until I buy a blu-ray) and while it appears to work as usual, after about an hour, the app just exits with no error, and nothing written. Tried writing to a HD folder as well, with the same results. It doesn't balk at HD source material when I point it to the file... I wonder what is going on with it? Have you had any success burning HD content to a BD-R?
mchad is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-16-2008, 03:22 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I haven't bothered trying.
bicker1 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off