TIVO interface with DirecTV or Comcast - what's the latest ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-31-2008, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anywhereanytime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We all know the BS that has been generated over the last 2 years about the "any day now" TIVO interface/upgrade for Comcast and the "rumored on again" potential relationship with the new DirecTV owners.

We still have two old TIVOs - and just can't live without the interface - and watch OTA (err actually QAM tuner) HDTV channels on Comcast in the SF Bay Area. Yeh, crappy SD, but HD QAM ... but no HD recording !!!!

OK, the new DirecTV bird is up and starting to add HD channels ... SO, what;s the latest facts about TIVO HD for either DirecTV or Comast ?

OR, the long rumored next gen TIVO HD PVR ??
anywhereanytime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 08-01-2008, 01:47 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The news is there is no news. If you want HD on DirecTV, then more and more they are forcing you give up TiVo. If you want TiVo on Comcast, then you will need to move to New England. At least for now.

And there has been nothing from TiVo about what their next generation will be. Lots of speculation on the part of online posters, but nothing that qualifies as "news".
bicker1 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 08-01-2008, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anywhereanytime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

The news is there is no news. If you want HD on DirecTV, then more and more they are forcing you give up TiVo. If you want TiVo on Comcast, then you will need to move to New England. At least for now.

And there has been nothing from TiVo about what their next generation will be. Lots of speculation on the part of online posters, but nothing that qualifies as "news".


That's what I thought but had to get it on deck. What is the current experience with TiVo in the New England trial since that will have a bearing on the rest of the markets ... better, still bad, or fixed ??
anywhereanytime is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 08-01-2008, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Hallow8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the best option if going to DirecTV, from comcrap, as far as receivers go? (HD DVR only)
Hallow8 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 08-01-2008, 03:28 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by anywhereanytime View Post

That's what I thought but had to get it on deck. What is the current experience with TiVo in the New England trial since that will have a bearing on the rest of the markets ... better, still bad, or fixed ??

I've read messages indicating steady improvement, but it is clearly not yet to the point where it has reached the level of "good" -- not surprising, given that they're trying to run an incredibly sophisticated software system on top of an unrelated operating environment, on an underpowered hardware platform. Recipe for disaster from the beginning, so expectations of sweetness and light were ill-advised.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hallow8 View Post

So what's the best option if going to DirecTV, from comcrap, as far as receivers go? (HD DVR only)

There is only one choice, that receives all the available channels: the HR21 (or the HR20 with a separate converter -- I think). DirecTV has closed their system to equipment other than that which they distribute.
bicker1 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 08-27-2008, 11:27 AM
Member
 
rw88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
DirecTV has closed their system to equipment other than that which they distribute.

Am I reading this right? Is it impossible to run a DirecTV HD box with the outboard HD TiVo standalone DVR?
rw88 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 08-27-2008, 03:32 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The TiVo HD has no high-definition video inputs. It has two coaxial inputs, one for an antenna and one for a direct cable connection.
bicker1 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 08-27-2008, 03:36 PM
Member
 
rw88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
...this is the sound of dreams dying...

Thank you for the quick reply. This is *nearly* enough to make me leave DirecTV.
rw88 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-18-2008, 05:56 PM
Member
 
GuyLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just had a message today on Directv that they are renewing their agreement with Tivo and will be offering an all new Tivo HD DVR in the second half or 2009.

It's a long time to wait but I will if it keeps the current style Tivo interface and gives me HD. I was dreading trying to switch my wife over to something else.
GuyLR is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-19-2008, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

If you want TiVo on Comcast, then you will need to move to New England

My Tivo-HD works fine on Comcast and I dont live in New England.

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 09-19-2008, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 11001011 View Post

My Tivo-HD works fine on Comcast and I dont live in New England.

He's referring to the Moto boxes running TiVo-developed software - which allows access to PPV, on-demand, and other cableco-specific content. However, based on what I've heard, it's had more than its share of troubles. I'm personally quite happy with my Series3 though...
demonfoo is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 09-19-2008, 11:39 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, sorry, I should have been more explicit.
bicker1 is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off