Any Use for old HR10-250's? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-13-2008, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All. I have accumulated five HR10-250's that have been replaced by D* with newer gear. They are now sitting in my closet and I was wondering if there are any components worth stripping out to re-use. Specifically, are the hard drives worth pulling out?

I'm finding that I'm smarter than I thought, but dumber than I need to be.
PSN ID: rtart, alt Ginsuyou2
rtart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-11-2009, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Old thread I see, but no answer? I have an HR10-250 as well, and was wondering, aside from throwing it up on ebay or craigslist, is there any use for them?

Thanks,
Matt

Xbox Live: oktober rust | Mii: 5207 2388 9861 4135 | Steam ID: detroit820 | Origin ID: oktoberrust11

oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-11-2009, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never did get an answer (other than yours, of course!)

I'm using one of my six units to record SD vidoe from D* and using it to feed older CRT TVs via composite video. Works fine, but seems like the hard drives would be good for something.

Oh well...I've got lots of spares.

I'm finding that I'm smarter than I thought, but dumber than I need to be.
PSN ID: rtart, alt Ginsuyou2
rtart is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-11-2009, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtart View Post

Never did get an answer (other than yours, of course!)

I'm using one of my six units to record SD vidoe from D* and using it to feed older CRT TVs via composite video. Works fine, but seems like the hard drives would be good for something.

Oh well...I've got lots of spares.

Are you able to get ANY HD channels with it? Not sure if the 70-90 channels are still MPEG-2.

Xbox Live: oktober rust | Mii: 5207 2388 9861 4135 | Steam ID: detroit820 | Origin ID: oktoberrust11

oktoberrust11 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-11-2009, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
rtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Although I don't have it configured to output in HD, I can still get the HD channels form the old sats. D* would probably replace it with a newer DVR, but this one has an oversized hard drive that will hold scads of SD programming, which is all I use it for. Lots of kids SD content for use by my children.

I'm finding that I'm smarter than I thought, but dumber than I need to be.
PSN ID: rtart, alt Ginsuyou2
rtart is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off