Motorola DCH6416 to hard drive??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-14-2008, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ntellya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the story: My husband passed away suddenly a few weeks ago. He had recorded numerous shows ( a lot of concerts ) on our Motorola DCH6416 which we rent through Charter. I was always too busy to watch them with him...a huge regret (among many).
The box has been flakey, and Charter wants to replace it. I've asked them how I get the content off and I've received every answer possible: 1. You can't 2. Play it, but have it go into a VCR (horrible loss of quality) 3. Same as #2, with a DVD recorder (which I don't own or need) 4. Just hook up an external hard drive.

#4 came from a Charter tech who came out, and supposedly checked with another rep. This is probably my least expensive method of getting decent quality, however I've seen postings elsewhere stating that it doesn't work...something about a software upgrade.

Does anyone KNOW how to pull content off a DCH6416?
I appreciate it very much...it would be one (tiny) less regret.

Ntellya
Ntellya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-05-2008, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
Jimster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ntellya, my condolences on the loss of your husband.

The only thing I can suggest is buying a DVD recorder (I got the Panasonic DMR-EZ28 online for about $200). I hooked mine up to my DCT6412 via the component connections, played the show I wanted to save and recorded it to a DVD. The final quality was quite good without much of a step down from the original HD picture. I start each show when I'm going to be doing something else (like sleeping).

I can't say for sure that what works for my DCT6412 will work for your DCH6416, and I'll note that the shows I've recorded have not come from premium (pay) channels - which are probably copy protected.

I hope this helps. Best regards,

- Jim
Jimster is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-05-2008, 01:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 131
You must be referring to "Composite" Y/W/R RCA inputs and outputs since the Panny DVDR doesn't have "Component" (RGB) inputs?

If so, that's something that's always been possible with DVDRs.
wajo is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off