is there a way to record from DVR to DVD or computer? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-29-2008, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
TomCat4680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mount Morris, MI
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Motorola DCH3416 and the hard drive keeps crashing and Comcast wants to replace it. The problem is I have the recording of an episode of The Tonight Show that we were in the audience for and want to keep a copy forever as a keepsake. How do I make a recording of it without losing the HD quality of it? Would a DVD recorder work because my gf's parents have one. Or is there a way to connect it to my computer and record it that way?
Please help!

DirecTV, Choice Xtra, every movie channel, HD Extra, VOD
TomCat4680 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-05-2008, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
Jimster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't know if it will work on your DCH3416, but on my DCT6412 I just connected the component outputs to the component inputs on my Panasonic DVD recorder, played the show on the DCT6412 and hit the record button on the DVD recorder and it copied it very nicely. Good quality, too. Regular DVD recorders don't record at HD quality, but I actually didn't notice any obvious reduction in quality with the HD show I was copying.

Hope this helps.

- Jim
Jimster is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-05-2008, 02:30 PM
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15,532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 166
You must be referring to "Composite" Y/W/R RCA inputs and outputs since the Panny DVDR doesn't have "Component" (RGB) inputs?

If so, that's something that's always been possible with DVDRs.
wajo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off