Plastic tamper clip on Motorola DCH-3416 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-19-2009, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgoetze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I upgraded the hard drive on my Motorola DCH 3416 over the weekend and was not able to open the unit without breaking the little black plastic anti-tamper clip. I have no need to return the unit to Comcast, but I am worried that they might fine/charge me if I ever have to bring the unit back in for service.

Does anywhere know where I can get these black plastic tamper evident clips??

Anyone in the forum work for Comcast - do I have anything to worry about, do they even care at the service centers??

Thanks,
Marc
mgoetze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-19-2009, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
NeutrinoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How badly did you break it?

When I broke mine, it was just one of the "wings" on the back of the tab - I just used epoxy to fix it.

I haven't re-inserted it though... I'll only do that if I need to bring it for service!
NeutrinoMan is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-19-2009, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgoetze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately it broke really bad... Literally exploded, I can't even find one of the wings. There must be a company that makes that part, I just haven't been able to find it via google - searching for tamper evident clips, etc... hopefully someone will have an idea. There's always that chance that the service center won't give a darn.
mgoetze is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-20-2009, 12:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The tamper clip isn't something you are going to be able to buy here in the states. That would defeat the purpose.

Don't be surprised if you see a $380 to $480 charge on your account when you cancel Comcast service. You may get lucky and avoid that fee, but others have been hit with it.

Had you asked first, we would have told you that all Motorola DVRs are "hard coded" in firmware to use the capacity of the SKU. They can't be upgraded or expanded. For increased capacity, you have to buy your own CableCard DVR like the TivoHD or Moxi.
bfdtv is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-06-2010, 01:28 AM
Newbie
 
icamehereforhelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mgoetze, sorry to reply so late - but the item that you are looking for that will go into your motorola dch-3416 dvr or any motorola dvr is called a Plastic Anti-Tamper Tab Plug Seal Lock. you can get them at newelectronx located at www dot newelectronx dot com

let see if i can place the link here for you....

www dot newelectronx dot com/proddetail.php?prod=SPLUG
Motorola DCH 3416 little black plastic anti-tamper clip

ps i found it necessary to bump this old post because i could find the answer myself and thought that others might be suffering from the same issue. hope this helps someone especially mgoetze.
icamehereforhelp is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-06-2010, 02:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Considering his last post was six months ago, I don't think he'll remember to log on again.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-07-2010, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Good for anyone else who has the same problem, though...
Colm is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-06-2012, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
garfly111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dont worry about it. I refurbish these boxes for TW and there are many going to the feild without those clips.
garfly111 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-09-2012, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
icamehereforhelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
eek.gif idk about that one. all the ppl i know who have tried to take the cable box back to timewarner, comcast, shaw, rogers, etc without it have been fined if the tamper seal is broken or at least looked to be tampered with. and with TW and comcast losing money on band width from their video customers hacking and such - it is enforced. at least in the areas i have been around. if they don't do it on the areas that you supply your refurbs in, then good for those ppl. but as a rule of thumb, return it how you got it and no problem will befall you. haha
a little birdy told me that if you use this discount code you can get money off the black plastic tamper evident clips - there is a known discount code floating around - type newelectronx-avsforum when you decide to make your buy biggrin.gif
icamehereforhelp is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off