Hauppauge HVR1600 and DirecTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-17-2009, 11:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pinchycm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

So I moved into a new place and the entire building is wired to get basic DirecTV. It's paid for through the assessments.

I don't have my TV here yet, but I do have my PC with a Hauppauge HVR-1600. Can I plug in directly into the coax in the wall and watch TV through it?

Any help on how to set this up would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
pinchycm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-18-2009, 10:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No.

You can't get a picture on DirecTV without a DirecTV set-top box or DVR. No PC tuner can tune DirecTV channels.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-18-2009, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pinchycm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aw, lame! Thanks!

Why can't PVRs tune DirecTV channels? I know for a fact that my TV can tune DirecTV channels without a DirecTV box.
pinchycm is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-18-2009, 04:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinchycm View Post

Aw, lame! Thanks!

Why can't PVRs tune DirecTV channels? I know for a fact that my TV can tune DirecTV channels without a DirecTV box.

TVs can't tune satellite signals either. There are three basic modulation schemes:

satellite: DVB/DVB-S2 and QPSK/8PSK
cable: QAM
OTA (ATSC): 8VSB

Digital PC tuners and newer digital TVs usually support 8VSB and QAM, but none support the modulation schemes used by satellite.

Now, it is possible for a building to take certain channels from satellite and modulate them into NTSC or QAM for customers. If your building does that, then your PC tuner would probably work. If your TV can tune the channels, then so will your PC card.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-19-2009, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pinchycm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

TVs can't tune satellite signals either. There are three basic modulation schemes:

satellite: DVB/DVB-S2 and QPSK/8PSK
cable: QAM
OTA (ATSC): 8VSB

Digital PC tuners and newer digital TVs usually support 8VSB and QAM, but none support the modulation schemes used by satellite.

Now, it is possible for a building to take certain channels from satellite and modulate them into NTSC or QAM for customers. If your building does that, then your PC tuner would probably work. If your TV can tune the channels, then so will your PC card.

Ah, the latter was the case. Turns out they have a standard def subset of channels they stream to everyone in the building. Thanks for the input.
pinchycm is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off