HELP finding a DVR for Caribbean (NTSC, US power, with TV Guide Listings) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-12-2009, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
scottydunlop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, here's the situation, hoping some experts can help me.

Temporary move to Caribbean island of Saint Kitts -- no DVR service. They use a set top box from Scientific Atlanta, and I can even find the local channel lineup on www.tvguide.com (and they have a channel 99 with this data populated as well).

Service there is NTSC and US power supply. I understand I could buy an old Series 1 Tv and use as a dumb VCR without guide data, but I'm wondering if there is a solution (non-Tivo) that can use this already existing guide data that is publicly available.

Apparently HD is coming, so SD ability is fine, or if there is a solution for HD now, I'm even happier.

Thanks in advance,

Scott
scottydunlop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-12-2009, 01:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cable companies deliver their guide data in a proprietary format. Only cable company STB/DVRs can use the cable company's guide data.

TiVo, ReplayTV, and Moxi provide their own guide data. Those DVRs tend not to support service outside of the states, because the major guide data providers do not offer guide data for those territories.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-12-2009, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
scottydunlop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Just to clarify, all of the guide data for this provider's lineup is on TVGUIDE.com, once I select the appropriate country location.

I guess none of those companies use TVguide data for their EPG?
scottydunlop is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-12-2009, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I know TiVo uses Tribune; I think the others do as well. I think the only devices that use Gemstar/TVGuide data are certain OTA devices that use TVGoS, but I'm not 100% certain of that.
demonfoo is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off