Scientific Atlantic (8300HD) IR extender? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 05-16-2009, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chasechasechase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I haven't been able to find this answer in any previous threads, but:

Do you guys know where I can get a SA ir extender for my 8300HD box. I know it use to be available on their website but it is not anymore... Do they use a proprietary ir system or does any ir extender work?

If you guys had any links of things you know work that would be great... I'm not too familiar with the 8300HD
chasechasechase is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 05-24-2009, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Docism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry Chase, Ive got the exact same issue. If you or anyone has a solution please share it. I don't see any inputs for an IR extender, is there any way to use the USB posts?

Some folks just choose alternate realities, and there's nothing that can be put into words here that will co·ax them out of that.
Docism is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 05-24-2009, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Docism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is what we need (Cisco USB IR Extender)... this ↓ is a picture.



Where are they sold?

Some folks just choose alternate realities, and there's nothing that can be put into words here that will co·ax them out of that.
Docism is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 05-24-2009, 05:22 PM
Member
 
Docism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay... as of the time and date of this post, I have found 6 on Ebay (I already ordered mine )

LINK: Cisco USB IR Extender for Explorer 8300HD DVR.

Some folks just choose alternate realities, and there's nothing that can be put into words here that will co·ax them out of that.
Docism is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 09-19-2009, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
idanny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey I just got a scientific atlanta 8240hdc box and need one of these anyone know where I can buy one in the us or online?


any help would be much appreciated thank you.
idanny is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 09-19-2009, 09:22 PM
Member
 
Docism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an extra one, give me a couple of days to see if I can find it.

Some folks just choose alternate realities, and there's nothing that can be put into words here that will co·ax them out of that.
Docism is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 10-02-2009, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Docism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here it is, Ive got one left. $50.00 PayPal. PM me for details.
EDIT: SOLD!


Some folks just choose alternate realities, and there's nothing that can be put into words here that will co·ax them out of that.
Docism is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 10-05-2009, 06:37 AM
Newbie
 
Qwazr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Put it on EBAY...you'll get more than $50
Qwazr is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 11-18-2009, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Jets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.cisco.com/web/consumer/su...l#~accessories

Apparently they also make one that plugs in directly to the ir port in back. This one does not need the extra little eye on the recevier that the usb version uses.
Good luck finding it anywhere.
Jets is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 12-17-2009, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
onerebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one for sale on ebay right now, brand new, the 25' length
onerebel is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 12-28-2009, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
zeko2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Amino Aminet110 Set Top Box, and did I can use same USB IR Extender, and are all USB IR Extenders are universal for all STB?

i think that thay work with same tehnology ( USB connector is for power supply, IR cable who stay at STB is emiter of IR signals, and External cable is IR receiver). If i have right about this?

Thx you all.
zeko2009 is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 12-28-2009, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The Scientific Atlantic (8300HD) IR extender is set-up to only work with the SA STB. Or at lest it didn't work with any of the other brands of equipment that I tried.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 12-28-2009, 03:37 PM
Newbie
 
zeko2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What USb IR Extender is for Amino STB??
or did any STB work with all STB?

THx
zeko2009 is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 01-16-2010, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
AlbanyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Guilderland, NY
Posts: 641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are some of the Sci-Atl IR Extenders on sale at eBay right now. There are both the 12' and 25' versions.

Scientific Atlanta IR Extender 12' Part #1001807

Scientific Atlanta IR Extender 25' Part #4006725

AlbanyHDTV.com webmaster
AlbanyHDTV is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 09-15-2010, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
VioletM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Raising thread from the dead, my apologies.

Anyone have a 12' or 25' version of these for sale? eBay comes up empty and I can't locate any online resellers that carry them. Calling Cisco was a joke, I was told it's not a consumer product to be sold directly from Cisco and that I can try a local reseller in my area. They gave me a number to IBM which was for large scale business networking sales. So, here I am. Any help tracking one down would be appreciated. Again, sorry for the dead thread resurrection, figured it was easier than creating a new post.

Thanks
VioletM3 is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 09-15-2010, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have one, somewhere. Don't remember the length. Never used it, because it only controls the STB.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 09-15-2010, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
VioletM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedskater View Post

I have one, somewhere. Don't remember the length. Never used it, because it only controls the STB.

If you'd be up for selling it, please let me know via PM and I'd be happy to work something out with you.

Thanks
VioletM3 is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 10-22-2010, 07:32 AM
Newbie
 
pokerpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if anyone has one of these Cisco USB IR Extenders for sale let me know. I am interested to buy one. You can email me at peterkoutoulas@rogers.com

thanks
pokerpete is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 11-08-2010, 03:28 AM
Newbie
 
dusty mites's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
keep checking ebay. they always have a few on there. you need the one that plugs into the usb port on your receiver. the one that goes into the rca looking port on the back will not work. (been there done that)
they should look like this
Attachment 190552
LL
dusty mites is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 06-28-2011, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
tazz3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East islip N.Y
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i need one of these also for my Scientific Atlantic 4250 high def box
my box has the usb port
tazz3 is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 07-11-2012, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
TimDeaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one of these cables (IR Extender 1001807). It is out of the box and has been used bit is in working condition.

If you are interested in purchasing, please contact me.

timdeaton@yahoo.com

I am NOT a dealer
TimDeaton is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 10-02-2012, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
Calm Poast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Brighthouse cable with two HD boxes, both SA 8300HD. Each box is hidden from view and required an IR extender, just like the ones being discussed here.

I stopped in at Brighthouse and told them I needed 2 IR extenders and they gave them to me free.

That might be better than ebay ?

Try your cable supplier (if you have one) and insist you get one for free.
Calm Poast is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 12-29-2012, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
andrewk561's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am interested in buying the ir extender for the scientific atlanta Explorer 8300HD. Do you still have it and does it work and if so what is your best price?
andrewk561 is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 01-01-2013, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
daytonflyer53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just listed a 12' SA IR extender (1001807) for the Explorer 8300HD on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290838700229
daytonflyer53 is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 04-01-2013, 01:20 PM
Newbie
 
eshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Raising thread from the dead, (again). I'm looking for a SA IR extender for the explorer 8300HD in Canada. Please post if you have one available.
eshaw is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 06-13-2013, 06:02 AM
Newbie
 
Ciscoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have about 10 of these if interested email me...
Ciscoman is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 06-13-2013, 06:03 AM
Newbie
 
Ciscoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have many of these, email me if interested...
Ciscoman is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 10-17-2013, 08:02 PM
Newbie
 
Davus521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you still have these ciscoman? I am looking for one.
Davus521 is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 12-05-2013, 04:33 AM
Newbie
 
vpnavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Same here ciscoman - looking for one.

vpnavy is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 01-01-2014, 07:07 PM
Newbie
 
muratoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I may be late to the party, but I could use one of these as well.  Ciscoman, or anyone.  Thanks.

muratoz is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off