SA 8300HD can it be set to 480i widescreen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2009, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
EVT
AVS Special Member
 
EVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hi guys,

Is it possible for the SA8300HD to output 480i widescreen for SD and 1080i for HD with a single setting (i.e. passthrough) so I don't have to fumble around with the aspect controls on the TV or PVR?
EVT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2009, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Monger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by EVT View Post

Hi guys,

Is it possible for the SA8300HD to output 480i widescreen for SD and 1080i for HD with a single setting (i.e. passthrough) so I don't have to fumble around with the aspect controls on the TV or PVR?

Sure. Turn the dvr off, hold select and info until the menu pops up. Follow the instructions from there to select 1080i and 480i standard. After you turn the dvr back on select passthrough from the menu.
Monger is offline  
Old 07-28-2009, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
EVT
AVS Special Member
 
EVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thanks,

However, I realize that you can do this with 480i standard but I would like to use 480i widescreen instead as it maintains the proper aspect ratio on a widescreen TV when the TV is set to full.
EVT is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chroma601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sylva, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have written to Scientific Atlanta several times, asking about adding a menu control to switch the archive out (Record to vcr) to anamorphic. Archiving a HD program results in a horrible postage stamp SD recording, but if the output could be switched to anamorphic then it would be worthwhile.

They never answered, of course.

Aibohphobia: The fear of palindromes
chroma601 is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 08:45 AM
Member
 
WirelessMechanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when you select 480i standard on your scientific atlantic box, your tv will do the stretching, and thus you do not need to use the Aspect button on your remote any more, it will fill in the entire image area of your widescreen lcd.

480i Widescreen mode, is almost never used for broadcast, except the channel DW, which is 195 on my rogers cable box, it broadcasts in 480i/p widescreen. thus its the only channel i know of that uses that mode, for all others, they show grey bars on the sides.

WirelessMechanic at your service.
WirelessMechanic is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off