CCI Byte filter - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-29-2009, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stormspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't post here often, so I don't really know where to ask this question...

Is there a way to filter the Digital CCI Byte from a cable broadcast so my TiVo will be able to use MRV?
Stormspace is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-30-2009, 05:19 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No, and any means of doing so would be illegal, as it would effectively defeat an asset protection mechanism.
bicker1 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-30-2009, 10:18 PM
Member
 
Yakuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormspace View Post

Is there a way to filter the Digital CCI Byte from a cable broadcast so my TiVo will be able to use MRV?

Use a second tuner and run it into the line-in on the DVR.
Yakuman is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 10-31-2009, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yakuman View Post

Use a second tuner and run it into the line-in on the DVR.

If his TiVo is new enough to actually know about the CCI byte (which means it's a Series3 or TiVo HD), it has no line-in, making this moot.
demonfoo is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-31-2009, 11:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yakuman View Post

Use a second tuner and run it into the line-in on the DVR.

Modern TiVos like the TivoHD do not have line-ins. They have two built-in tuners and that's it.
bfdtv is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-03-2009, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stormspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just wondering if there was any line filtering equipment that removed the CCI Byte info from the cable stream.

@Bicker
I believe I'd be protected since MRV doesn't currently work for any channels on my DVR and I'd only be using it to access those channels I can legally transfer.
Stormspace is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-03-2009, 02:54 PM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormspace View Post

I was just wondering if there was any line filtering equipment that removed the CCI Byte info from the cable stream.

Such a thing would be illegal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormspace View Post

I believe I'd be protected since MRV doesn't currently work for any channels on my DVR and I'd only be using it to access those channels I can legally transfer.

That is not the case. The laws against defeating copy protection mechanisms make no provisions for violating the law in cases where the mechanism was engaged in error, assuming it was in error.

As it is, remember that your cable or satellite service provider is explicitly permitted to apply the CCI byte to any channels it wishes except for local OTA broadcast channels.
bicker1 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-13-2010, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stormspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bicker1 View Post

Such a thing would be illegal.

That is not the case. The laws against defeating copy protection mechanisms make no provisions for violating the law in cases where the mechanism was engaged in error, assuming it was in error.

As it is, remember that your cable or satellite service provider is explicitly permitted to apply the CCI byte to any channels it wishes except for local OTA broadcast channels.

Apparently removing the cable cards also remove the CCI byte. And that's not illegal.
Stormspace is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-14-2010, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Duh, and it also removes access to the channels you're paying for. What's your point?
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-03-2010, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
alokkola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran into the CCI byte issue with my TivoHD. The one channel I want to record locked down by the 0x03 CCI byte so it deletes the recording after 90 minutes.

As per TivoHD...
0×03 – Copy Never – the content can be recorded and viewed for 90 minutes after transmission, and is not transferable. Content disappears from the Now Playing list after 90 minutes.

Does anyone know if I would run into the same issue if I switched to Moxi? I don't know their DRMs.
alokkola is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off