Will my VIP722 work with DirecTV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-18-2010, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
shelljeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Recently switched from Dish to DirecTV, wondering whether I can use my VIP722 wiht the new service.
The VIP722 is a nice unit, so I'd like to make use of it if possible.
Can it take the place of one of my recently purchased DirecTV HD receivers?
Thanks, Shell
shelljeep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-19-2010, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No, not a chance

Mike T
mtallent is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-19-2010, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The D* and E* satellite systems are using entirely different transmission systems, so no, your VIP722 won't work. If you want a DVR, you're stuck with whatever D* will provide you, which will be one of the HR2x models.
demonfoo is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off