Can I Add a Audio Headset to This Box? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-21-2010, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
i_am_jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Comcast DVR box I want to add an RF audio headset like this one ["www. amazon.com /Sennheiser-Rs110-926-Wireless-Headphones/dp/B0001FTVEA"] to.

I have a picture of the back of the DVR box below.

I called brain dead Comcast and was told by two people I cannot add a headset to their box. It looks like to me the top two RCA jacks in the middle row (the white and red ones) are ordinary analog audio out jacks that should work. But, when two different people are adamant that I can't I have to wonder, and if those won't work I guess I'm SOL.

If those won't work is there any way to make the optical audio out work? How about the black jack call Digital Audio Out?
LL
i_am_jim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-21-2010, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtnfoley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They will work, altho you are slightly wrong identifying the jacks: The left column is HD component out (red, blue, green from top to bottom) while the next column (white, red, black) are stereo left and right, and coax digital audio.
Use the stereo outs and you should be in good shape.

Note that the box might have audio-out options, such as fixed volume versus variable: You can control the volume of the stereo outs with variable output, just make sure you don't pooch the other audio such as digital or hdmi.

I enjoy mowing my lawn. It's the only two hours of my week where I know what's expected, understand the job, can forsee completion, and look back and see progress.
jtnfoley is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-21-2010, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
i_am_jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry, I meant the middle column, not the middle row.

Thanks, that's what I thought.

Quote:


Note that the box might have audio-out options, such as fixed volume versus variable: You can control the volume of the stereo outs with variable output, just make sure you don't pooch the other audio such as digital or hdmi.

I didn't follow that. The picture shows all the connections on the box except the one hidden by the plugs that I labeled (optical audio out) and the partially visible 1394 on the far right. What you see is all I get. And, I don't know what pooching means.
i_am_jim is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-21-2010, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtnfoley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, Pooch is Southeast Massachusetts slang, meaning to break. I was at work answering your question, having spotted it in an RSS feed, so I was typing faster than I was thinking.

There's a software volume control in many set top boxes which will allow you to use the remote control to vary the volume of the box's own audio outputs IF the output is set to variable: Its terribly common for audio output to default to 'fixed' in a set top box since most people use Home Theater Receivers as external amplifiers (and volume controls.)

I enjoy mowing my lawn. It's the only two hours of my week where I know what's expected, understand the job, can forsee completion, and look back and see progress.
jtnfoley is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off