keeping my recorded content - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-05-2010, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spinner456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm looking for a dvr that will allow me to move my content to a pc, so i can save it.there are ones that you can build yourself, but they only record free over the air channels.i looked into the neuros ones, but apparently they suck.does anyone know of a good, quality, hd dvr that will let me keep what i record?
spinner456 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-05-2010, 11:59 AM
 
bicker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burlington, MA
Posts: 8,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The best option given your specs is the TiVo HD DVR.
bicker1 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-06-2010, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spinner456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Direct TV and it looks like tivo doesn't work with satelite.
spinner456 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-07-2010, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinner456 View Post

I have Direct TV and it looks like tivo doesn't work with satelite.

I don't think any DVR's work directly with Direct TV besides Direct TV's own DVR.

So any solution I can think of you will have to operate it "Old school" like a VCR. When recording you have to make sure your Direct TV box is tuned to the proper channel at the scheduled time. Or get the Direct TV DVR and "transfer" (record) them to the PC in real time.

This is not cheap but it is a stand alone solution.

GefenTV High-Def Personal Video Recorder

This is cheaper and records directly to a PC

Hauppauge HD PVR

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-04-2010, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spinner456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about a pc dvr?i'm looking at tv tuner cards(particularly hauppauge wintv hvr cards).i'm not sure if it'll work if it'll work if i run the coax cable to my pc with beyond tv 4 or example.i'd like someone to tell me if that'll work before i spend 100 bucks.
spinner456 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-04-2010, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinner456 View Post

what about a pc dvr?i'm looking at tv tuner cards(particularly hauppauge wintv hvr cards).i'm not sure if it'll work if it'll work if i run the coax cable to my pc with beyond tv 4 or example.i'd like someone to tell me if that'll work before i spend 100 bucks.

The RF output of satellite boxes is not HD and TV Tuner cards do not tune satellite frequencies so you can not just hook a tuner card up to a dish.

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-05-2010, 05:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spinner456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wait.i'm confused.what i plan to do is hook the card up to the reciever.the coax running from the dish comes out of the wall into the reciever and out of the reciever into my old sony trinitron tv.are you telling me that running the cable into a splitter after it comes out of the reciever and then into both my tv and tuer card on the pc won't work?if my tv can pick it up, why can't a tuner card on a pc?

as far as hd, it'll suck not to be able to record in it, but i just want to get away from recording on vhs finally.is the rf output on satellite boxes atleast 480p as opposed to 480i?
spinner456 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-05-2010, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
RF output is 480i format only as is composite and s-video connections.
Joxer is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-05-2010, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That will work but in your original post you were looking for an HD-DVR solution.

Still you would be better off using the Direct TV box video or S-video output and input (on the TV and PC tuner card) instead of the coax

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-06-2010, 01:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
spinner456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how come?i mean if the coax and composite are both just 480i....
also i think i've read that when you copy in real time using rca cables for example it loses quality.
spinner456 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-06-2010, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
11001011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: N.W. Washington
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinner456 View Post

how come?i mean if the coax and composite are both just 480i....
also i think i've read that when you copy in real time using rca cables for example it loses quality.

Here are the steps involved:
The signal come from the satellite in digital RF.

---Inside sat box---
The digital is decoded and converted to analog video.
The analog video is converted to analog RF (VHF ch2 or ch3)
---Inside sat box---

The analog RF sent to your TV/Tuner card via coax cable

---Inside TV or Tuner card---
The RF is tuned and converted back to video.

The extra conversion from video to RF and RF to video reduces overall quality.

A 'phile and his money are soon parted...
11001011 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-07-2010, 01:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
s-video though 480i has higher bandwidth than composite video, also the color is separated for better quality.
Joxer is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-08-2010, 02:44 PM
Member
 
scoosdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joxer View Post

s-video though 480i has higher bandwidth than composite video, also the color is separated for better quality.

Theoretically yes, but svideo shines when the luminance and chrominance are kept completely separate from the origin, such as from one svideo playback VCR to another, or from a camera's svideo out to a recorder's svideo in.

If the device with an svideo output simply has a couple of cheap bandpass and lowpass filters inside it to internally convert composite into svideo, then it's no better than using composite, and probably slightly worse.

Usually the digital signal in the receiver converts more or less first to HDMI/DVI, and then to YPrPb analog component (HD and SD flavors), and then from SD component it derives svideo and composite, sort of in that order.

Back on topic, my vote for this thread is for the OP to use something like the Hauppauge HD PVR adapter, which connects to his satellite DVR via component video connections (even has a loop in/out set of connections so you can leave it inline between the DVR and the TV) and record it in realtime in high def analog to a PC, and make a file. That's what I bought to replace my 8 year old Panasonic DVD recorder after a lot of consideration. Buy it soon before it gets really popular and the movie studios want to shut it down.
scoosdad is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off