Can I buy my own DVR box and not pay for the monthly charge with Comcast? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2011, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have already confirmed through Comcast that I can buy an HD box and not have to pay the second box fee, but would this be the same with a DVR?
qwerty11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2011, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Brad Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You can buy a TiVo and then, typically, lease the cable card from the cable company for $1-2/month.
Brad Bishop is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 04:42 PM
Member
 
armornone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like ReplayTV better( download to your PC, commercial skip,etc..) but the only problem is dealing with changing channels with that stupid cable boxes. You need to know how to figure out the entire IR blaster code thing.
armornone is offline  
Old 12-22-2011, 06:11 PM
Newbie
 
Waseem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Qwerty11

What I would suggest is the Magnavox RMDR515H/F7. This is a DVR with a DVD burner and a 500GB hard drive built in. It has a nice digital tuner that can pick up most of the digital cable signals from Comcast. I would suggest you check it out at:

http://www.magnavox.com/p/index_player.php?id=60

I maybe able to buy a refurbished unit from Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Magnavox-MDR51...4605296&sr=8-3) and save some on a great unit.

I own one and I have Comcast, and it works great. I still use the cable box with it for the scrambled channels but all in all the digital tuner does most of the work.

Hope I wetted your appetite ;-)

Waseem
Waseem is offline  
Old 12-22-2011, 06:19 PM
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Click #1 in my sig. for an indexed list of info and help files on the Mag HDD/DVD recorders.

PHILIPS HD DVRs | *MAG/PHILIPS SD DVDRs* | DVDR/DVR COMPARISONS | POST-DVDR OPTIONS
*If you're logged in, links will only work if your User CP > Edit Options > Number of Posts to Show per Page is set to 30, the default.
wajo is offline  
Old 04-16-2014, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
jon t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just checked with comcast and the answer is no. We cannot buy "dvrs" and skip on paying the rental fee to comcast. We can only buy "modems" and have them 'activated' by comcast.

jon t is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
realdreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon t View Post
<p>I just checked with comcast and the answer is no. We cannot buy "dvrs" and skip on paying the rental fee to comcast. We can only buy "modems" and have them 'activated' by comcast.</p>
Of course they say u cant so u can rent one from Comcast...1st CableCARD is free with Comcast...
realdreams is offline  
Old 02-18-2015, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Haywood Jablomi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Billerica, MA
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 48
TiVo with a CableCARD is the easiest to set up and use and it provides a greatly superior experience to Comcast's crappy DVRs. Whether or not it will save you money is entirely debatable. I don't particularly recommend going the Windows Media Center route unless you are very tech savvy and don't mind fiddling. I did that for two years and found it to be a pain in the ass due to my less tech savvy wife and kids.

Scott
Haywood Jablomi is offline  
Old 03-01-2015, 08:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Bishop View Post
You can buy a TiVo and then, typically, lease the cable card from the cable company for $1-2/month.
1st cable card from comcast is FREE, verizon the greedy bastard charges $5. I switched to comcast for this exact reason. I will never support someone like verizon that charges for freaking cablecard!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon t View Post
I just checked with comcast and the answer is no. We cannot buy "dvrs" and skip on paying the rental fee to comcast. We can only buy "modems" and have them 'activated' by comcast.
lol listening to anything CS or salesman tells you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by realdreams View Post
Of course they say u cant so u can rent one from Comcast...1st CableCARD is free with Comcast...
yup exactly this, before I bought it. The comcast rep told me he was gonna charge $2.5 and I had to tell him that it's free and I went on about comcast policy, I knew more about comcast than him and he hung up on me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haywood Jablomi View Post
TiVo with a CableCARD is the easiest to set up and use and it provides a greatly superior experience to Comcast's crappy DVRs. Whether or not it will save you money is entirely debatable. I don't particularly recommend going the Windows Media Center route unless you are very tech savvy and don't mind fiddling. I did that for two years and found it to be a pain in the ass due to my less tech savvy wife and kids.
It is so simple, if you can use ur comcast box u can easily set up tivo. I got the tivo romio plus and bought myself a lifetime membership. $900 bucks. I don't care if it cost more, the experience and the user friendly is worth it.
viziotvowner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off