Can I buy my own DVR box and not pay for the monthly charge with Comcast? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2011, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
qwerty11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have already confirmed through Comcast that I can buy an HD box and not have to pay the second box fee, but would this be the same with a DVR?
qwerty11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2011, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Brad Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You can buy a TiVo and then, typically, lease the cable card from the cable company for $1-2/month.
Brad Bishop is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 05:42 PM
Member
 
armornone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like ReplayTV better( download to your PC, commercial skip,etc..) but the only problem is dealing with changing channels with that stupid cable boxes. You need to know how to figure out the entire IR blaster code thing.
armornone is offline  
Old 12-22-2011, 07:11 PM
Newbie
 
Waseem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Qwerty11

What I would suggest is the Magnavox RMDR515H/F7. This is a DVR with a DVD burner and a 500GB hard drive built in. It has a nice digital tuner that can pick up most of the digital cable signals from Comcast. I would suggest you check it out at:

http://www.magnavox.com/p/index_player.php?id=60

I maybe able to buy a refurbished unit from Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Magnavox-MDR51...4605296&sr=8-3) and save some on a great unit.

I own one and I have Comcast, and it works great. I still use the cable box with it for the scrambled channels but all in all the digital tuner does most of the work.

Hope I wetted your appetite ;-)

Waseem
Waseem is offline  
Old 12-22-2011, 07:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
wajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Click #1 in my sig. for an indexed list of info and help files on the Mag HDD/DVD recorders.
wajo is offline  
Old 04-16-2014, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
jon t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just checked with comcast and the answer is no. We cannot buy "dvrs" and skip on paying the rental fee to comcast. We can only buy "modems" and have them 'activated' by comcast.

jon t is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
realdreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon t View Post
<p>I just checked with comcast and the answer is no. We cannot buy "dvrs" and skip on paying the rental fee to comcast. We can only buy "modems" and have them 'activated' by comcast.</p>
Of course they say u cant so u can rent one from Comcast...1st CableCARD is free with Comcast...
realdreams is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off