Best DVR for Over-the-Air recording - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 101 Old 04-14-2015, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
wizwor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Danville, NH
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Glad you're happy. A lot of people like the whole house DVRs. If you came to me saying you had a house full of Rokus, I would certainly recommend you start with a whole house DVR. Even if you decided to go with a set top DVR, the other would be good for other devices. The Simple DVR is particularly good for remote access.

Still, for someone looking to cut their cable, who has no existing infrastructure, I am always going to recommend running a coax from an attic or roof antenna to a DVR+. For most people, this is very close to the cable experience and a very good price.
wizwor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 101 Old 05-13-2015, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
wizwor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Danville, NH
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Have spent the last week playing with a TiVo Toamio OTA. Bought two @ $299.99 with Lifetime and wish I had bought three. You do need to have internet or dialtone with the TiVos, but there are no monthly fees and $299.99 is competitive with the Channel Master DVR+. I would advise everyone to keep an eye open for an encore of this deal.
wizwor is offline  
post #93 of 101 Old 07-06-2015, 11:54 PM
Member
 
jaxstraww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your big on the Channelmaster DVR+ solution.

I have the Fios local channel package. Not using OTA for my main TV that needs a DVR. TV is a newer Sharp with QAM so I just pipe the coax cable into the TV and get my main locals which is what the wife wants. We supplement other TV using Netflix & a Hulu+ solution. Streaming box is a Nvidia Shield.

Would this Channelmaster work with a QAM setup as I explained? I'd like to pipe the coax with my Fios local package into the DVR and then run the DVR into the TV using HDMI. For internet connectivity I would use a wireless thumb drive I have laying around. No access to an Ethernet connection for Internet.
jaxstraww is offline  
post #94 of 101 Old 07-07-2015, 12:26 AM
Member
 
jaxstraww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, after some reading the channelmaster won't work. After reading some Amazon questions it looks like only an OTA feed will work. No QAM tuner built in.

Do you have any recommendations for a similar DVR device that I can use QAM on? OTA antenna is not an option for this TV.
jaxstraww is offline  
post #95 of 101 Old 07-07-2015, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
wizwor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Danville, NH
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 110
When you say an antenna is not an option for 'this tv', are you saying there is no OTA at the set or at the location (address)? The only QAM DVR I have experience with is the Simple DVR. These are no longer generally available and require a software license.

Take a look at this...

http://www.amazon.com/3500STBII-Mult.../dp/B00GOILYB6
wizwor is offline  
post #96 of 101 Old 07-07-2015, 03:29 PM
Newbie
 
lrhyne11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help - "VCR" type recorder needed
Okay, if I'm in the wrong forum, feel free to redirect me. I have cut the cord, but have a question. I have two HD TVs and two Rokus (subscribe to Netflix and Sling TV for most of the year). I am lucky and can pick up a decent # of OTA local & PBS stations with $10 indoor antennas. Occasionally, there are two OTA network shows on at the same time that I wish to watch. Since my circa 1990's VCR no longer works, what is the least expensive way to be able to record one show on just one TV. I don't need to be able to skip commercials or anything like that. It would be nice to be able to set ahead of time (i.e. set to record every Thur @ 10pm on channel 9.1) I don't wish to pay a monthly fee since I will only use this 15 - 20 times a year for an hour or so each time. Most of the DVRs I've looked into seem to be overkill for my needs.

Thanks for any help!
lrhyne11 is offline  
post #97 of 101 Old 08-16-2015, 04:12 PM
Member
 
avshelden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrhyne11 View Post
Help - "VCR" type recorder needed
Okay, if I'm in the wrong forum, feel free to redirect me. I have cut the cord, but have a question. ... Since my circa 1990's VCR no longer works, what is the least expensive way to be able to record one show on just one TV. [...] Most of the DVRs I've looked into seem to be overkill for my needs.

Thanks for any help!
While I'm know there are many users whose experience was not what mine was and would not make this recommendation, I would recommend you try to find a DTVPal converter box (TR40). There is a lengthy forum here: Dish DTVPal / Echostar TR40 digital to analog converter

This should work with your VCR and allow you to program both to do the recordings. We did this for quite a while but ultimately decided we wanted a real HD DVR and bought the DTVPal+ DVR/Channel Master 7000 (I think) which is no longer sold. We have been extremely happy with ours although we do still deal with issues when we go through daylight savings time changes. (forum here: The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic!)

I saw a couple of the DVR models available on ebay today and would highly recommend that route as a low cost (but not bulletproof) solution.
avshelden is offline  
post #98 of 101 Old 08-16-2015, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
wizwor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Danville, NH
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by avshelden View Post
While I'm know there are many users whose experience was not what mine was and would not make this recommendation, I would recommend you try to find a DTVPal converter box (TR40). There is a lengthy forum here: Dish DTVPal / Echostar TR40 digital to analog converter

This should work with your VCR and allow you to program both to do the recordings. We did this for quite a while but ultimately decided we wanted a real HD DVR and bought the DTVPal+ DVR/Channel Master 7000 (I think) which is no longer sold. We have been extremely happy with ours although we do still deal with issues when we go through daylight savings time changes. (forum here: The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic!)

I saw a couple of the DVR models available on ebay today and would highly recommend that route as a low cost (but not bulletproof) solution.
The DTVPal has not been manufactured for a half dozen years. I happen to own three and love them, but cannot recommend one now due to the age of the hardware.

Right now, I would recommend the TiVo Roamio/OTA at $300. It is the best DVR at any price and at $300 it is very reasonabley priced.
wizwor is offline  
post #99 of 101 Old 08-20-2015, 03:58 PM
Member
 
rsamos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just last week I hapened to stumble onto a link to the $300/lifetime deal on an OTA that wizwor mentioned above and couldn't pass that up. I also picked up a Mini to go with it.

I've put in the needed hardwired network connections for the Mini, and this weekend will be moving the antenna that's sitting on a floor pointing out a window up to the roof. After that, I should be ready to deal with the Dish Customer Retention Specialist and cut the cord.

This is my first experience with Tivo. While the interface is admitedly a bit clunky, it's not at all a deal breaker for me. In every possible way this DVR is signifcantly better than the Dish DVR (Hughes?) I've been using for years.

One thing I've been wondering is if Tivo ever updates their streaming apps. I was hoping that maybe by winter the HBO Now app would show up.
rsamos is offline  
post #100 of 101 Old 08-20-2015, 04:16 PM
Senior Member
 
wizwor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Danville, NH
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsamos View Post
Just last week I hapened to stumble onto a link to the $300/lifetime deal on an OTA that wizwor mentioned above and couldn't pass that up. I also picked up a Mini to go with it.

I've put in the needed hardwired network connections for the Mini, and this weekend will be moving the antenna that's sitting on a floor pointing out a window up to the roof. After that, I should be ready to deal with the Dish Customer Retention Specialist and cut the cord.

This is my first experience with Tivo. While the interface is admitedly a bit clunky, it's not at all a deal breaker for me. In every possible way this DVR is signifcantly better than the Dish DVR (Hughes?) I've been using for years.

One thing I've been wondering is if Tivo ever updates their streaming apps. I was hoping that maybe by winter the HBO Now app would show up.
They do.
wizwor is offline  
post #101 of 101 Old 08-20-2015, 04:22 PM
Member
 
rsamos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizwor View Post
They do.
xlnt.

Thanks.
rsamos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off