Any way to archive programs recorded on a TIVO? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-09-2014, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kdkrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used a ReplayTV for many years until my eyes hurt from the poor resolution. I used DVArchive for storing some programs. I am now considering purchasing a TIVO for many reasons, except they are certainly not without their expense. Is there any program available similar to DVArchive that allows one to "off-load" recorded programs to my PC to effectively increase storage?

Thanks
Ken K
kdkrone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-10-2014, 07:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Aero 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdkrone View Post

I used a ReplayTV for many years until my eyes hurt from the poor resolution. I used DVArchive for storing some programs. I am now considering purchasing a TIVO for many reasons, except they are certainly not without their expense. Is there any program available similar to DVArchive that allows one to "off-load" recorded programs to my PC to effectively increase storage?

Thanks
Ken K

Tivo Desktop, $15: https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/desktop-plus

kmttg, Free: http://sourceforge.net/projects/kmttg/

Use kmttg, it does everything tivo desktop does and more like stripping out the tivo wrapper, cutting out commercials and encoding to different profiles. Keep in mind that none of these will work if your cable provider sets copy flags on channels. Also, if you search, you can probably find the free Tivo desktop version that Tivo discontinued.

To push shows and other files back to the Tivo from the computer, use pyTivo: https://github.com/wmcbrine/pytivo

kmttg and pytivo work and integrate well with each other.

OTA | Netflix | Hulu+ | Amazon Prime | MLB.tv & MLS Live with No Blackouts!
Aero 1 is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-11-2014, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kdkrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks so much for the info. From reading I have done since your post, I would probably not have any problem with programs on the major channels (CBS, NBC, ABS, public television) but may run into problems with channels like HBO, Showtime, etc. (I have Charter service). That would actually work for me. Now the question is about popping for the TIVO and service...

Ken K
kdkrone is offline  
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off