OTA DVR with no internet? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-23-2017, 05:40 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Nathan Webel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
OTA DVR with no internet?

My brother lives in the sticks and has no access to broadband internet. He had a Tivo Premiere which got its guide data through his phone line (Tivo phone to USB adapter). With Tivo's sale to Rovi, they converted their data and no longer support this setup.

Brother is hooked on the ease of DVR recording and is looking for a replacement for the Tivo.

Is there a unit that gets its data OTA as broadcast from the stations? Or that can otherwise get guide data without an internet connection? Ideally he'd like 2 tuners, so he can record one and watch one (or record 2).

Does such an animal exist?
Nathan Webel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-23-2017, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Nathan Webel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
So, after doing a little research, Channel Master indicates that with no internet connection, their DVR runs with 2 days of PSIP programming data provided in the channel guide. Looks like it has 2 tuners as well. Are there any others?
Nathan Webel is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-06-2017, 10:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RayGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 958 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Dish w/ota tuner?
RayGuy is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 06-28-2017, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,128
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 247
BTW: Perhaps he would be interested in getting Internet via Satellite, starting at $50/mo:
http://www.reviews.org/internet-serv...rnet-providers
holl_ands is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-28-2017, 06:45 AM
Member
 
Dennis_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The less expensive TV converter boxes (Homeworx, iview, Ematic, etc) don't have internet connectivity. They get their program information from the broadcast signal. A lot of broadcasters are kind of spotty on how much information they provide and how far ahead they show programming information. None of it goes past 24 hours that I have seen.

Is the Tivo capable of accessing this information included in the broadcast signal? If not, your brother should still be able to look up schedule information in TV Guide or sites like Titan.tv. He would then be able to program recordings by channel, time and date. That's how I do it with my cheap little Ematic converter box and it works just fine.
Dennis_D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off