Downloading from SA8000 ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-31-2003, 12:45 AM - Thread Starter
ktb
Newbie
 
ktb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone got any pointers for pulling shows off the SA8000?

I've managed to fill mine to capacity, and wanted to find a more elegant (and less tedious!) solution to saving the shows to my HD than hooking up a Replay and re-recording all the shows.

I'm not opposed to popping the puppy open to get at it's HD, but I've no idea what filesystem PowerTV uses, etc.

TIA!
ktb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-01-2003, 09:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
AnthonyNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can you let me know what its limit is? 30 hours?

Also, I don't know about getting shows off it, I assume the 1394 ports aren't activated in software yet, but do you think popping it open and adding a bigger hard drive, like a 120g would work?
I would think it should format and load OS automatically on the first reboot like when it was first activated, but am not sure.
Anyone try this yet?

AnthonyNYC
AnthonyNYC is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-21-2003, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
rubaiyat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow I am also interested in this precise problem. I got two SA8000s from Comcast, the second came after my first (80GB) was filled. Has anyone tried to use the USB? port in the front of the box? I'm afraid to pop the top but if the second box fills up and I have to beg Comcast for a third, I just might pop it!
rubaiyat is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-09-2003, 07:01 PM
Member
 
goony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try asking / looking in this Yahoo! group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/explorer_8000/
goony is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-10-2003, 04:52 PM
Newbie
 
rubaiyat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks goony, I will sign up for this website!
rubaiyat is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-15-2003, 04:51 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,586
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 524
Quote:
Originally posted by AnthonyNYC
Can you let me know what its limit is? 30 hours?
I recently ran out of recording space on mine so i counted up all my hours and i had 16 hours of digital and 14 hours of analog programming packed onto the thing. So yeah, 30 hours it is :-)

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TiVo Series3 & Premiere, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off