Season Pass - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 10-01-2003, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is season's pass permitted on Tivo if I don't dial up?
AnthonyB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-20-2003, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
hjackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tampa
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey, a fellow Tampon!! AnthonyB do you currently have Season Pass? I was goint to buy it 2 days ago, then I found out that you can't use it to watch local sports played on local channels!? So what the heck then is the point in getting NFL Sunday Ticket if you can't even use it to watch your own team in enhanced or HDTV??? This is only good for watching your out of town teams only! Rant off.

hjackson
hjackson is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-16-2003, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
bootz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't answer for Season Pass, but I do have NHL Center Ice. When I signed up, DirecTV gave me some mumbo-jumbo saying they'll "give me special permission" to subscribe w/o dialing in via my HDTV receiver or my DirecTivo.

They also said they can't guarantee I'll get all the games...when I asked for an explanation they couldn't give me one. So far, I've been able to view all the NHL games.

I do not ever dial in via my HDTV receiver. I do receive updates on my DirecTivo via ethernet, but never dial in via the modem.

Good luck!
bootz is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-30-2003, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
spinnergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, while on the subject, is it very feasible to operate TiVo without a phone connection? I have a dial-up account that I use occasionally on my laptop at home, but I do not have a home network that I could tie the TiVo into. How often does the Tivo need to phone for updates?

~ Scott LNT5265F, PS3, JBL-CS480, HR20-100

spinnergy is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-26-2003, 02:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Resist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can also connect your Tivo to the phone line via a wireless phone adapter.
Resist is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-03-2004, 04:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Llamas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stand-alone Tivos need to dial up to download the guide data. No guide data, no season passes.

DirecTivos need to dial up in order to stay activated (just like all other sat receivers). This is to keep people in multiple locations from splitting the same sat bill. The DirecTivo's guide data comes from the satellite, though, so you can leave it unplugged from the phone line for a week or two at a time before it's an issue.

--Mike
Llamas is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-23-2004, 06:51 AM
Member
 
Kenster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Llamas

DirecTivos need to dial up in order to stay activated (just like all other sat receivers).
--Mike
I don' know about alll sat receivers but my Ultimate TV is never connected to the phone line- going on two years.
Kenster is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-27-2004, 06:36 AM
Member
 
phone1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Llamas
Stand-alone Tivos need to dial up to download the guide data. No guide data, no season passes.

DirecTivos need to dial up in order to stay activated (just like all other sat receivers). This is to keep people in multiple locations from splitting the same sat bill. The DirecTivo's guide data comes from the satellite, though, so you can leave it unplugged from the phone line for a week or two at a time before it's an issue.

--Mike
Most standalone TiVos get guide data from a special Discovery broadcast. They do need to call regularly however to download the decryption key for the data and confirm subscription status.

DTV receivers and DTiVos do not need to call, they get all guide data from the satellite, including account status - no pay, they shut you off from the sat. All the phone call does is download PPV information for billing purposes. If they don't call regularly, the ability to order PPV with the remote will be disabled.
phone1 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off