How can I increase 6208 storage space? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-07-2004, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
RonHagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northern IL, USA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Motorola 6208 with an 80GB hard drive. This is way too small for HD shows. How can I increase the storage capacity? I called my cable provider (Insight) and they said that an external hard drive would not work (no details as to why). Is this true? Could I replace the internal drive with a larger capacity drive?
RonHagen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-07-2004, 05:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you replace the hard drive, you'll subject yourself to a $500-$600 penalty from the cable company.

There is no way to expand the capacity at this time. A future software update may add support for external drives.
bfdtv is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-07-2004, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
RonHagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northern IL, USA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bfdtv
If you replace the hard drive, you'll subject yourself to a $500-$600 penalty from the cable company.

Whoa!!...glad I asked! Thanks.
RonHagen is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-07-2004, 07:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ron Hagen,

Have you considered the purchase of a HDTV D-VHS? That way, you could off-load / save your favorite HDTV recordings to tape.
bfdtv is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-08-2004, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
RonHagen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northern IL, USA
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to have to do some research on DVHS. How much do they cost?

Anyway, my immediate problem is this...HD shows are scarce compared to SD. Looking through the programing guide and scheduling HD shows to be recorded in advance seemed to be solution. However, it could be 3 or 4 days...maybe a week before I could get time to spend with my Home Theater. Sometimes this has worked out but many times the hard drive ran out of space with only a few shows recorded. Sure would be nice to chose from a wider selection of HD shows when I have the time instead of trying to schedule my time around a show I might not even find interesting enough to watch the whole way though... :)
RonHagen is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off