Motorola 6412 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-11-2004, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DesolataX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to buy one of these for the dual tuner capability, but has anyone opened one? ive heard it uses a Proprietary Hard Drive (looks like SATA, but about 1/2 CM longer connector), anyone know about that, because i want 250gb of storage rather than 120GB
DesolataX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-11-2004, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Where can you buy one of these??
RCbridge is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-11-2004, 04:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can't. If you buy one, chances are it won't work with your cable provider.
bfdtv is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-29-2005, 04:52 PM
Newbie
 
the_wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I opened mine. I was going to try and ghost the contents from the 120GB HDD in my dct6412 to a 250GB HDD. Just an FYI, the DCT6412 uses a 120GB EIDE ATA 100 Seagate HD.

The real thing I am worried about is the HDD limitations of the bios in the DCT6412..

I'm actually suprised that no one has tried to hack the DCT6208 and 6412 or made a program which can read the partition on the PVR's HDD.
the_wiz is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-14-2005, 12:26 PM
Member
 
richardnva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wiz,
Do you know if you can add an additional external HD via firewire on the 6412 to increase total storage capacity?

Thanks,
R
-
Yamaha RX-v3800, Sony 5 disc DVD, HD TiVo DVR, Panasonic 54" G20 1080p Plasma, Polk 5.1 speakers, Harmony Remote, PS3
richardnva is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 07-14-2005, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
IvanGirderboot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_wiz
Just an FYI, the DCT6412 uses a 120GB EIDE ATA 100 Seagate HD.
This is not true of all units. Mine is a Maxtor 120GB. This info is in the diagnostics menu (model, size, ESN, patritian table)
IvanGirderboot is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off