Comcast DVR *requires* digital cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-31-2004, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bob Lafleur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Springfield, MA USA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in an area where Comcast will be using the Motorola DVR's.

If I want a DVR, will I *have* to subscribe to DIGITAL cable? Can I get a DVR with analog cable only, and only record the "analog" tier? Can I get it with BASIC cable and only record channels 2-20?

- Bob
Bob Lafleur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-31-2004, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dt_dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob Lafleur
If I want a DVR, will I *have* to subscribe to DIGITAL cable?
That depends on your cable company and what pricing models they have in place. Yes, most are requiring 'digital' cable along with their own DVR service ... but a few aren't.

A standalone DVR from Tivo, Replay, etc. will record all of your cable company's basic analog channels just fine without 'digital' service from your cable company ...
dt_dc is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-31-2004, 11:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast DVR service requires digital cable. You can't buy their $10/mo DVR service unless you subscribe to digital cable.

If you just want basic or extended basic cable service with a DVR, then you need to buy a Tivo or ReplayTV. Best Buy now has Tivos on sale for $0 after rebate. As with the Comcast DVR, there is a monthly fee to use it, but the Tivo offers superior usability and functionality compared to the Comcast DVR.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 09-01-2004, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bob Lafleur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Springfield, MA USA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dt_dc
A standalone DVR from Tivo, Replay, etc. will record all of your cable company's basic analog channels just fine without 'digital' service from your cable company ...
Unfortunately, with a loss in quality. I guess I'd be looking at a quality loss with a Comcast PVR anyway, if all I'm going to record are the "analog" channels.

- Bob
Bob Lafleur is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 09-01-2004, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bob Lafleur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Springfield, MA USA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I'll look into a Tivo, especially if they are free after rebate.

I currently have Comcast BASIC service for $7.50/month. I'm happy with that. I don't want to have to pay >$55/month just for digital cable so that I can add the Comcast DVR.

Thanks for your help.

- Bob
Bob Lafleur is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 09-01-2004, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dt_dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob Lafleur
I guess I'd be looking at a quality loss with a Comcast PVR anyway, if all I'm going to record are the "analog" channels.
Exactly ...

For digital channels (digital cable, dbs, etc) an 'integrated' box that's able to capture the digital straight to hard drive (cable company DVR, DirecTivo, etc.) ... it's a big improvement over a standalone box.

But for analog channels ... a standalong is doing the exact same thing as an integrated box (MPEG encoding on the fly).

My SciAtl 8000 from the cable company gives very similar results for analog channels as my standalone Tivo (it's a little better than the Tivo when set at 'High' recording quality ... but not quite as good as when the Tivo is set to 'Best').

Note: The 'free after rebate' Tivo deal no longer exists that I know of. However ... in your case ... it still sounds like it's going to be cost-beneficial over the cable company DVR very quickly!
dt_dc is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 09-09-2004, 11:40 PM
Member
 
CrazyQuattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have digital cable from Comcast. Is there a PVR that i can buy and use without paying the $10 a month extra? Or do i have to get the PVR through comcast? :confused:
CrazyQuattro is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 09-10-2004, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crazy,

You could buy the Toshiba SD-H400 with the free Tivo Basic service, but this would control the digital channels through your Comcast set-top box with an IR or serial connection. WIth this solution, you'd have no DVR fee, but you would have lower picture quality on the digital channels, and there would be some added delay when switching between digital channels. The only way to record at full picture quality for digital channels and with full channel-changing speed is to use the Comcast DVR.

In November, there will be one alternative. Sony will have a CableCard HDTV DVR at $799 in November, if you'd rather pay that instead of $10/mo. You'd need to use it for about seven years before you'd break even, though. In that time, Comcast will have gone through several DVR generations ($20 swapout of old model), and they'll be far more advanced and more capable than anything you can buy this year.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 09-11-2004, 10:19 PM
Member
 
CrazyQuattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my best bet is going with comcast DVR? :)
CrazyQuattro is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 09-12-2004, 12:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crazy,

That depends....Do you have a HDTV? Does your Comcast use Motorola or Scientific Atlanta equipment?

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 09-12-2004, 08:18 PM
Member
 
CrazyQuattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont have HDTV and my comcast box is a motorola.
CrazyQuattro is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 09-12-2004, 10:13 PM
f44
AVS Special Member
 
f44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bob,

the $0 thing was a error on Best Buy's website that has been fixed.

You can get a 40-hr ReplayTV 5504 for about $63 (plus monthly or annual fee) from Amazon.com or Buy.com if you buy by 9/30 (the last day for Replay's rebates).
f44 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 09-14-2004, 03:19 PM
Member
 
CrazyQuattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does that hook up directly into the comcast box?
CrazyQuattro is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 09-14-2004, 05:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crazy,

I would probably go with the Tivo for $79 after rebate. Yes, it would connect to your comcast box. If your Comcast box is a Motorola series 2xxx, then there's a good chance the Tivo can control it by serial connection (serial cable included) instead of IR.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 09-23-2004, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
Rupert Pupper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob Lafleur
I guess I'll look into a Tivo, especially if they are free after rebate.

I currently have Comcast BASIC service for $7.50/month. I'm happy with that. I don't want to have to pay >$55/month just for digital cable so that I can add the Comcast DVR.

Thanks for your help.

- Bob
I was able to add digital cable to my basic $15 cable for about $10 or so (don't have the bill handy now). Apparently you do not necessarily have to get the extended analog cable (ESPN, MTV ,etc.) in order to get digital cable. You may want to call Comcast and ask about adding just the digital cable. I don't know if this is available everywhere, but it is worth a call (I'm in NJ).
Rupert Pupper is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 10-02-2004, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Uziel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have basic cable, you would pay $9.95 for the DVR service and 5.99 for the level of digital called DIGITAL ACCESS. You would technically have "digital cable" without having any additional channels and would get access to DVR, VOD, PPV, on screen program guide, etc.
Uziel is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off