RCA Scenium DRC7005N hard drive swap? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2004, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
crevouyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Medellin, Colombia
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if it is possible to swap the hard drive in the RCA Scenium DRC7005N for a larger unit?

Thanks,

Patrick
crevouyr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2004, 06:43 AM
Member
 
lurker623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it is very easy. You need to use either a Seagate or a Maxtor IDE harddrive .

The DRS7000N hard disk cannot be upgraded. The DRC7005N can have up to 137GB
added. The instructions below are copied from:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...91#post3065491

It is a straight HDD swap and initialize. The "format" command places everything
on the drive that is required.

1. Get a HDD. Set drive jumpers to "master".
2. Unplug the unit. Unscrew and remove the top cover.
3. Locate the Seagate HDD and unplug the data and power cables at the back of
the drive.
4. Undo the 4 large screws holding the HDD to it's mounting bracket and remove
the drive. (I had to remove the bracket first, because the DVD drive is in
the way - depends on what screwdriver you have)
5. Attach the new drive to the mounting bracket, and plug in the power and data
cables.
6. Replace the cover and plug it in.
7. Turn the unit on. As soon as it says "MENU", Press and hold the "INPUT" and
the "STOP" buttons on the front panel for about 4 seconds or so. You should
then see the messages "FORMAT", followed by "OK".
8. Do a quick test recording, then check "video" in the menu to see how much
remaining rec time the unit is reporting.

Precautions:

1. The HDD and the internal PVR components can be damaged by static electricity.
You should be properly grounded.
2. Check the warnings on the cover re: DVD laser radiation and electric shock
hazards. Basically, don't plug in the unit with the cover off.
3. Modifying the unit voids the warranty.

I don't know why some drives are not working. I picked my 80GB drive from the
same Seagate U6 family for max compatibility, but then again even the old
Seagate 6.5GB drive that I had worked. Maybe the unit just doesn't recognize
some drives properly?

Added Note: If Stop-Input fails to format the disk, try Stop-Input-Play.

Hope this helps

Read for Profit
lurker623 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off