Toshiba SD-H400 DVR question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-30-2004, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
LSM
Newbie
 
LSM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have searched this forum with no finds about the Toshiba SD-H400 DVR so maybe somebody can help me.

My question is that the Toshiba SD-H400 specks and blurbs mention that it will play back recorded material from its hard drive to a HDTV using the progressive component outputs. Does the SD-H400 actually record HD shows and play it back to a HDTV in "unmodified" HD as i.e. the Motorola 620x STB would or convert the signal to analog first?


This is a great forum with many knowledgeable folks.
Thanks in advance for any help on this question.

LSM

UPDATE...

OOPS! It seems I missed the sticky post about TIVO sister site. Found this post...
"It seems you are not going to benifit from taking the HD signal onto a tivo. I have the toshiba SD-H400 which has component out, so when a program is broadcast in HD or widescreen it saves on the tivo in 16:9 aspect. Although the quality does suck"

Thanks anyway!
LSM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-30-2004, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stephen Tu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Toshiba model in question is a Tivo / DVD Player combo, so you would find a zillion threads about it in the Tivo forums, not this one.

It is a standalone PVR, encoding from analog sources only so it will not record in HD. It doesn't "convert the signal to analog first"; you have to feed it an analog signal to begin with. In order to record from a HD channel, you would need an HD cable box; the cable box would convert the signal to analog NTSC (480i), the Toshiba then would take that, digitize & MPEG encode it & store to disk.

If you want to actually record in HD you need a integrated digital tuner/DVR, such as the Motorola 6208/6412, SA 8000HD for cable, or the DirecTV HR10-250 HD-Tivo model for satellite/OTA.
Stephen Tu is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-30-2004, 03:33 PM - Thread Starter
LSM
Newbie
 
LSM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Stephen for your response. I did find the TIVO board and learned that the TIVO based units do not use HD at this time. I do have the Motorola 6208 and was trying to work around its poor TV Guide I/F.

LSM
LSM is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off