Need new PVR for DirecTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-17-2004, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
eric_christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Norcross, GA USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My DirecTV/UltimateTV RCA combo unit now has two bad tuners. After trying the fixes recommended on the Web (mostly trying to reduce heat), I'm ready to get something new.

I would appreciate any thoughts on the following:

1. Stay with UltimateTV and buy a used unit off of eBay.
2. Swith to TiVo or another service.

My wish list for a new PVR unit includes:
Integrated DirecTV receiver
2 Tuners
40+ hour capacity
Component Video Output (if not, S-Video)
30-second skip button on remote
Caller ID Display on TV

Thanks
eric_christ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-17-2004, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
dmwierz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by eric_christ
My DirecTV/UltimateTV RCA combo unit now has two bad tuners. After trying the fixes recommended on the Web (mostly trying to reduce heat), I'm ready to get something new.

I would appreciate any thoughts on the following:

1. Stay with UltimateTV and buy a used unit off of eBay.
2. Swith to TiVo or another service.

My wish list for a new PVR unit includes:
Integrated DirecTV receiver
2 Tuners
40+ hour capacity
Component Video Output (if not, S-Video)
30-second skip button on remote
Caller ID Display on TV

Thanks
I'd suggest a DirecTiVo. 40 hours is standard, and you can easily upgrade to larger hard drives. S-video is standard. I'm not sure about component video on the non-HD TiVo's. 2 tuners is standard.

30-second delay is only available with a back-door code. Caller ID is a hack you can install on standalone TiVo's only. I don't think it will work on second generation DirecTiVo's.
dmwierz is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-17-2004, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
eric_christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Norcross, GA USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dmwierz
30-second delay is only available with a back-door code. Caller ID is a hack you can install on standalone TiVo's only. I don't think it will work on second generation DirecTiVo's.
30-second skip and Caller ID were two of my favorite features on UltimateTV. Tell me again why that unit failed in the marketplace? :(
eric_christ is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-17-2004, 03:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
30-second skip is easily enabled on the DirecTivos, and it remains enabled until you unplug the box. The DirecTivo would satisfy all of your requirements except for component out (it has s-video). No Dish or DirecTV SD DVR has component output.
bfdtv is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-18-2004, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
glenw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by eric_christ
30-second skip and Caller ID were two of my favorite features on UltimateTV. Tell me again why that unit failed in the marketplace? :(
Microsoft abandoned the UTV platform because they say it wasn't making enough money......I just wish they would've exhibited a little more patience. Oddly enough, they had announced some really nice features in a future upgrade that never materialized.

I have 4 of these, and shudder at the thought of HAVING to switch. By the time I'm forced to, I'm hoping the Moxi DVR will be available for us.
glenw is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-18-2004, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
eric_christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Norcross, GA USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by glenw
I have 4 of these, and shudder at the thought of HAVING to switch.
I shudder as well -- any thoughts on fixing my UTV unit? I have a DirecTV/UTV RCA combo unit.

A few months ago, one tuner failed. I reset it multiple times, swapped cables, elevated the unit to improve air flow -> tuner 1 still failed.

Now tuner 2 says failed as well. However, I can still get some channels (local channels, 202, 242, 244, ...) some of the time and can still occasionally record a show.

Any hope for this unit
eric_christ is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-19-2004, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
glenw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you haven't already, check out the UTV forum on this same message board regarding fixing your tuners. I would probably buy a cheap one off Ebay before switching to another DVR at this point.
glenw is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off