DVR recording to DVD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 12-16-2004, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to record from a Comcast DVR (motorola) to a standard DVD recorder (not connected to a computer) without having to sit and record/view the recording in real time?

pabs
pabs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 12-16-2004, 03:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 18,338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 702
And you posted this in the HDTV Recorders Forum....why?
archiguy is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 12-16-2004, 07:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Because he thinks his DVD recorder is HD :D
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 12-16-2004, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zeroendless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so you know, pabs... you can't put even 1 hour of HD stream recording into DVD if there's one. Get you a DVHS tape recorder probably much helpful.
zeroendless is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 12-20-2004, 01:31 PM
Member
 
SilverHemi03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where would you ask the question of recording SD from a Moto 6412?
I want an interim solution while I build a HTPC. On the DVD recorder forum, there isn't much discussion on the 6412 since it's HD. I want to use the 6412 to record everything, then selectively burn some SD DVD's to release the space.
SilverHemi03 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 12-26-2004, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
lisa6191's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
<<Where would you ask the question of recording SD from a Moto 6412?
I want an interim solution while I build a HTPC. On the DVD recorder forum, there isn't much discussion on the 6412 since it's HD. I want to use the 6412 to record everything, then selectively burn some SD DVD's to release the space.>>

I would like to know this also. I posted in the general DVR forum but nobody seemed to know how to do it. My situation is further complicated by the fact that I am routing everything through my Onkyo receiver first. Would I need to connect the 6412 directly to the DVD recorder without going through the receiver first? If so, what connections would I use? Thanks for any help with this!

-Lisa
lisa6191 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 12-26-2004, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jimbo Moran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tulsa,Ok.
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by lisa6191
<<Where would you ask the question of recording SD from a Moto 6412?
I want an interim solution while I build a HTPC. On the DVD recorder forum, there isn't much discussion on the 6412 since it's HD. I want to use the 6412 to record everything, then selectively burn some SD DVD's to release the space.>>

I would like to know this also. I posted in the general DVR forum but nobody seemed to know how to do it. My situation is further complicated by the fact that I am routing everything through my Onkyo receiver first. Would I need to connect the 6412 directly to the DVD recorder without going through the receiver first? If so, what connections would I use? Thanks for any help with this!

-Lisa
Purchase an S-Video cable then run it to your DVD Recorder from your 6412 since it outputs video on all connections at once. You will also need some RCA cables to your recorder for audio. You can simply run a set from yout 6412 if you are currently using a digital connection to your receiver.

Jimbo--------Bomb's Away
Jimbo Moran is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 12-27-2004, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Almighty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Francisco, California USA
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimbo Moran
Purchase an S-Video cable then run it to your DVD Recorder from your 6412 since it outputs video on all connections at once. You will also need some RCA cables to your recorder for audio. You can simply run a set from yout 6412 if you are currently using a digital connection to your receiver.
That would work but the other issue is that DVD Recorders also record the 5.1 Dolby Digital track so wouldn't RCA cables only give 2 channel sound or can the 5.1 information still make it to the DVD Recorder?

Cheers,
Vince - vince@DNALOGIC.NET
President/CEO - DNA Logic Corporation - San Francisco - http://www.DNALOGIC.NET
Almighty1 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 12-27-2004, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jimbo Moran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tulsa,Ok.
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Almighty1
That would work but the other issue is that DVD Recorders also record the 5.1 Dolby Digital track so wouldn't RCA cables only give 2 channel sound or can the 5.1 information still make it to the DVD Recorder?
I am unaware of any DVD recorders that record in DD5.1. Which unit were you using as an example?

Jimbo--------Bomb's Away
Jimbo Moran is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 12-28-2004, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Almighty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Francisco, California USA
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimbo Moran
I am unaware of any DVD recorders that record in DD5.1. Which unit were you using as an example?
The LG XBR446 VCR/DVD-+R/RW does record in DD5.1.

Cheers,
Vince - vince@DNALOGIC.NET
President/CEO - DNA Logic Corporation - San Francisco - http://www.DNALOGIC.NET
Almighty1 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 12-28-2004, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsmith901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The question here is one I have also. There is lots on the non-HD channels I would like to record, and I am curious to see if I can record HD channels (downconverted to 480i through the S-video out) also as it may provide better PQ. The 6412 video is connected to my ED plasma through component cables. I plan to run the S-video out to my Panny E80 but there is only one set of analog outs (and I want to keep that to the TV even though the digital out runs to my surround system), so I will need to split both channels of the audio and run one to my TV and one to the E80. As far as I know the 6412 will have to be in "Play" mode to make the recording in real time. But you could set that up to run overnight and it won't interfer with recording.

"The truth is out there!"
dsmith901 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 12-28-2004, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moved to non-HD DVR forum, since it has nothing to do with HD.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 12-28-2004, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jimbo Moran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tulsa,Ok.
Posts: 1,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Almighty1
The LG XBR446 VCR/DVD-+R/RW does record in DD5.1.
I don't believe it does however I cannot find the input specs anywhere online. Do you own this unit and does it have a digital audio input? If so it might be worth picking one up if for no other reason than the audio recording capability.

Jimbo--------Bomb's Away
Jimbo Moran is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off