Comcast DVR bugs... damn it! Better call Comcast! :( - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2004, 10:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay I can't figure out what's going on. I've got this mystery recording in my My DVR list that transforms into whatever I just deleted. It's really strange.

At first, it showed up as something that was "interrupted during recording" or something like that. I tried to delete it, but it was a glitched recording or something and it wouldn't let me. So, I decided to delete everything else I had recorded to see if it would just go away... or it would let me delete it then. Nope!

So now I've got this stupid recording screwing up my entire box. I tried pulling the plug, but without success! It won't let me change channels, it won't let me play On Demand stuff... the box is useless now. It thinks it's trying to play this dumb mystery recording. What a piece of crap.

Oh well! At least I get a new one for free. :)

Check out my website... http://www.smashsworld.com/
smash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-21-2004, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here's a ZIP with three screen shots of this piece of crap glitching out...

by the way this is the dual tuner model in case you were wondering.

 

comcastdvrglitchpics.zip 196.1220703125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: zip comcastdvrglitchpics.zip (196.1 KB, 4 views)

Check out my website... http://www.smashsworld.com/
smash is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just called them. They said it was a corrupted hard drive.

They told me to format the hard drive, which did remedy the problem!

Steps:
1. Turn the box and then quickly press "select" to bring up the diagnostics menu.
2. Press the replay button 3 times, the "My DVR" button 3 times, then the "Live" button three times. The box clicks off and quick formats the drive.

Ta-da. Everything's reset to factory.

Check out my website... http://www.smashsworld.com/
smash is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off