motorola dvr won't record in 5.1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-28-2004, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
arnavut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
comcast dualtuner motorola dvr. it does record program with 5.1 audio if you are watching that channell or manually record while you are watching it. But if you set it to record in advance and if you are not watching that channell it records in 2.0 audio. I guess second tuner is doing the recording job since i am watching another channell. is there an issue with second tuner that it only records in stereo?
arnavut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-28-2004, 08:31 AM
Member
 
martins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
None of them have digital input yet, so 5.1 is not possible, regardless of whether you record it in advance or not. The best you will get so far with any DVD recorder is stereo.
martins is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-28-2004, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
DarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by martins
None of them have digital input yet, so 5.1 is not possible, regardless of whether you record it in advance or not. The best you will get so far with any DVD recorder is stereo.
What are you talking about? The Moto dualtuner DVR records the bitstream of all digital channels and encode the analog channels. If the digital channel has 5.1 audio in it, it should record that as well; if it is not doing it you might want to check the audio settings and if all else fails talk to Comcast. I have the 6412 and it records the 5.1 audio just fine. My cable company is TW and I have the echo software in my unit. I have other bugs that some of you may or may not have but I will leave them for other posts.

May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

XBOX LIVE: ForceFields
DarthJedi is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-28-2004, 09:48 AM
Member
 
martins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oops! I thought he was talking about a DVD recorder.
martins is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off