Comcast DVR --> DVD recorder connection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-11-2005, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lgussow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 1900 West Polk
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a dual tuner DVR from Comcast. It is connected to the TV, but I'm also trying to connect it through a DVD recorder into a second TV input. Used RCA connectors from DVR-out to DVD in. Get nothing but a blue screen. the DVD -> TV connection is good, since DVD's play fine. Any suggestions? Thanks. Gus
lgussow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-11-2005, 06:31 PM
Member
 
Stingray1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sarasota Fl
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you're using the SA8000HD, it won't output to the component out and composite/S video out at the same time. To get program to your DVD recorder - record to you DVR hard drive then use the "copy to VCR" mode to download to DVD recorder. You can still use the SA8000HD to record, play other recorded programs , or watch a live channel while doing the download. Its a little awkward but not too bad once you get used to the process.
Stingray1 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-16-2005, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
gillcup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 563
Stingray1,

Could you explain what "copy to VCR" mode is?
Thanks,

Mark

There is a very thin line between "hobby" and "mental illness". - Dave Barry
gillcup is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-17-2005, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SonomaSearcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since not all dual tuner cable DVR's are the same, it is necessary to describe the brand/model that you have. Also, describe the software/guide it uses. And your specific location is always helpful.

Moved this thread since it does not concern HD issues.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SonomaSearcher is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-18-2005, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Stingray1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sarasota Fl
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
gillcup - to use the "copy to VCR" mode on the SA8000HD, press the "mydvr" button in the upper center of the remote. This will bring up a list of the recorded programs on the DVR hard drive. Highlight the recording you wish to copy, press the select button - the menu that pops up will contain a "copy to VCR" option.
Stingray1 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off