What STB model(s) will I get from TWC if I get their DVR service? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-11-2005, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jet190rs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is for non-HDTV, so I assume its not the SA8000HD or SA83000HD that everyone is taking about on these forums....
Please let me know what box they currently offer for SDTV and if they have analog or svideo outputs in the back (because I want use a dvd recorder or the dvd burner from my pc)

BTW, I'm located in NYC if location make any difference.

Thanks,
Rich
jet190rs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-12-2005, 08:04 PM
Member
 
HooDSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both a SD DVR and a HD DVR from Time Warner NYC.

SD= SA8000
HD= SA8000HD

Enioy
HooDSide is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-18-2005, 12:49 PM
Member
 
gus8av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an SA8000HD from Time Warner. I assume from reading elsewhere that TW uses the 'Passport' software in the SA8000HD. My question is a non-DVR question. The remote has a Favorites key but I can't find out how to use it to restrict the list of channels when I press the channel up/down key. Can anyone help, or is this a non-implemented function in this STB?
thanks.
gus8av is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-18-2005, 01:36 PM
Member
 
gus8av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: columbus, ohio
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
-----------------
The remote has a Favorites key but I can't find out how to use it
-----------------
I figured it out. You select the desired channel, press Settings, then left arrow, then exit. Then select another channel and repeat.
gus8av is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-19-2005, 06:20 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally posted by gus8av
I have an SA8000HD from Time Warner. I assume from reading elsewhere that TW uses the 'Passport' software in the SA8000HD.
Some TWC affiliates use Pioneer Passport software but other TWC affiliates use the SARA software so you have to check your DVR to see what your particular TWC office is using. It's also a good idea to know which version of either software is currently on your machine. Luckily i have Passport on my DVRs :D

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-19-2005, 08:24 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally posted by jet190rs
This is for non-HDTV, so I assume its not the SA8000HD or SA83000HD that everyone is taking about on these forums....Please let me know what box they currently offer for SDTV and if they have analog or svideo outputs in the back (because I want use a dvd recorder or the dvd burner from my pc)
Actually you should call the cable company and ask them which non-HD DVR they give you, and also ask if they run Pioneer Passport or SARA software. These two questions will be a big help in finding out about recording to DVD.

I seem to remember seeing mention of a non-HD SA8300 here and there, but some cable companies might give you the SA8300HD and have you run it in SD mode which would be the best possible scenario. More likely it'll just be the regular SA8000 and i don't think you can easily record to DVD (if at all).

Ask them if they have the SA8300 or SA8300HD, and if so can you get one of those. And remember to ask what software they're running.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off