Digital Simulcast Information - Comcast - Page 3 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Digital Recorders (PVRs) General > Digital Simulcast Information - Comcast

Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

blitzen102's Avatar blitzen102
09:32 AM Liked: 18
post #61 of 80
10-04-2005 | Posts: 2,219
Joined: Jan 2004
Motorola's DTC700...

"The DCT700 is an all-digital set-top that provides operators with a quick and cost-effective means of realizing the benefits of an all-digital network. These benefits include increased bandwidth for high-definition and video-on-demand (VOD) content, on-demand information and entertainment services, as well as a reduction in theft of video services."

http://broadband.motorola.com/noflash/DCT700.html

BTW, all analogs except the TV Guide Channel are now being DS'ed here in Minneapolis/St. Paul.
ssetta's Avatar ssetta
02:10 PM Liked: 10
post #62 of 80
10-08-2005 | Posts: 308
Joined: Jan 2003
Well, I know of some areas in the Boston area that have been completed, but my area hasn't. I was also told that channels like the local access channels WILL NOT change. Have they changed for you, scanpa?
scanpa's Avatar scanpa
02:25 PM Liked: 10
post #63 of 80
10-08-2005 | Posts: 2,359
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssetta
Well, I know of some areas in the Boston area that have been completed, but my area hasn't. I was also told that channels like the local access channels WILL NOT change. Have they changed for you, scanpa?

Yes all 69 Analog CH are now simulcast in Digital.
blitzen102's Avatar blitzen102
11:31 AM Liked: 18
post #64 of 80
11-21-2005 | Posts: 2,219
Joined: Jan 2004
Comcast here in Minneapolis/St. Paul is now deploying the DCT700 and DCT3412 (digital-only) STBs and DVRs.
scanpa's Avatar scanpa
11:50 AM Liked: 10
post #65 of 80
11-21-2005 | Posts: 2,359
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzen102
Comcast here in Minneapolis/St. Paul is now deploying the DCT700 and DCT6412 (digital-only) STBs and DVRs.
I am sure you ment 3412......
stpauldvr's Avatar stpauldvr
08:19 PM Liked: 10
post #66 of 80
11-22-2005 | Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2005
I just had Comcast St. Paul install the DCT6412. The HD Channels are great. The digital channels are fine. They told be they switched the 1-100 channels to digital - the reason I switched to Comcast. The 1-100 channels aren't clear, especially the when watching Football and Basketball - ghost images. The box is connected via the YpbPr component ports. I tried this switch in the past when the 1-100 channels were analog and was told that the DCT6412 doesn't convert analog channels. If have a Mitsubishi WS-65713 Platinum TV. Any idea's on how to clear up the picture?
blitzen102's Avatar blitzen102
08:50 AM Liked: 18
post #67 of 80
11-28-2005 | Posts: 2,219
Joined: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by scanpa
I am sure you ment 3412......
Yep - sorry.
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
09:17 AM Liked: 16
post #68 of 80
11-28-2005 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
We have 3412's and 700's here too. I still have a 6412 and swapped my 22xx for a 700. Comcast has done a terrific job with ADS. Congrats are in order.
rcodey's Avatar rcodey
12:48 AM Liked: 10
post #69 of 80
11-29-2005 | Posts: 373
Joined: Aug 2001
What is the capacity of the DCT-700 harddrive?
scanpa's Avatar scanpa
08:54 AM Liked: 10
post #70 of 80
11-29-2005 | Posts: 2,359
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcodey
What is the capacity of the DCT-700 harddrive?
The DCT-700 does not have a hard Drive.

It is the plain jane Digital cable box.

The 3412 is the All digital Cable Box with 120gb HD, duel tuner, HD.
RalphArch's Avatar RalphArch
09:34 AM Liked: 10
post #71 of 80
11-29-2005 | Posts: 2,753
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna
We have 3412's and 700's here too. I still have a 6412 and swapped my 22xx for a 700. Comcast has done a terrific job with ADS. Congrats are in order.
Mark -

I am trying to prognosticate the future when ADS comes to my locale (COMCAST as well). Are most of the ADS channels besides the locals=OTA encrypted in your area? Someone in SF mentioned quite a few were in the clear - which would make my MyHD QAM tuner capablity much enhanced if there were quite a bit in the clear.
markjrenna's Avatar markjrenna
01:27 PM Liked: 16
post #72 of 80
11-29-2005 | Posts: 912
Joined: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by RalphArch
Mark -

I am trying to prognosticate the future when ADS comes to my locale (COMCAST as well). Are most of the ADS channels besides the locals=OTA encrypted in your area? Someone in SF mentioned quite a few were in the clear - which would make my MyHD QAM tuner capablity much enhanced if there were quite a bit in the clear.
Most channels are not encrypted. You will be pleased to know that many channels (at this point in time) are "In the Clear".
PaulGo's Avatar PaulGo
03:09 PM Liked: 19
post #73 of 80
12-30-2005 | Posts: 3,639
Joined: Apr 2003
The easiest way to tell if a channel is digital it to look for the Dolby digital double D. It only appears on the digital channels on my Moto 6200. The only channel that is simulcast in digital is HBO channel 38 so far in Montgomery County, MD. The reason for this is the 6200 cannot descramble an analog signal. Hopefully most of the analog channels will be replace by digital soon.
scanpa's Avatar scanpa
05:32 PM Liked: 10
post #74 of 80
12-30-2005 | Posts: 2,359
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulGo
The easiest way to tell if a channel is digital it to look for the Dolby digital double D. It only appears on the digital channels on my Moto 6200. The only channel that is simulcast in digital is HBO channel 38 so far in Montgomery County, MD. The reason for this is the 6200 cannot descramble an analog signal. Hopefully most of the analog channels will be replace by digital soon.
The DCT-6200 STB is a Combo Analog / Digital Cable Box.

The DCT-700 & DCT-34xx are the only Motorola Cable Box that Do Not Do Analog..... They are strictly for Digital Cable systems.
hondo21's Avatar hondo21
03:47 PM Liked: 10
post #75 of 80
12-31-2005 | Posts: 824
Joined: Jun 2001
Well, 2005 is done. So when is the rollout of DS to other areas going to happen? Comcast here out of Greensburg PA appears to be still all ANALOG in the lower channels (I didn't check them all - is there a way to go through the channels while in the diagnostic screen?). The poor PQ would indicate the same. Lots of video noise on the analog channels. I'd love to have TCM and a few others in digital.
ssetta's Avatar ssetta
04:13 PM Liked: 10
post #76 of 80
12-31-2005 | Posts: 308
Joined: Jan 2003
I sure know that feeling. My area is the same way. They did a few channels back in April, and promised to add more quite awhile back, but they NEVER did. And they DID plan to have all areas done by the end of this year, and for "this year" we have less than 6 hours left, and still no ADS. NOW they plan to have everything done by the beginning of Spring, but the question is:

WILL THEY???
scanpa's Avatar scanpa
08:28 PM Liked: 10
post #77 of 80
12-31-2005 | Posts: 2,359
Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by hondo21
Well, 2005 is done. So when is the rollout of DS to other areas going to happen? Comcast here out of Greensburg PA appears to be still all ANALOG in the lower channels (I didn't check them all - is there a way to go through the channels while in the diagnostic screen?). The poor PQ would indicate the same. Lots of video noise on the analog channels. I'd love to have TCM and a few others in digital.
Some Comcast areas have been having equipment problems at the head end plant. Once those problems are resolved, then ADS will be enabled in those areas.

Happy New Years to everyone.
RalphArch's Avatar RalphArch
08:38 PM Liked: 10
post #78 of 80
01-24-2006 | Posts: 2,753
Joined: Dec 2001
COMCAST Montgomery County MD now has ADS - local thread
NickDG's Avatar NickDG
04:04 PM Liked: 10
post #79 of 80
05-11-2006 | Posts: 93
Joined: Feb 2006
COMCAST in San Ramon, CA now has ADS. Just happened this week.
nightowl's Avatar nightowl
04:56 PM Liked: 10
post #80 of 80
05-11-2006 | Posts: 1,199
Joined: Jan 2001
COMCAST in Sacramento has started ADS. Just the locals at this time, however a couple of the cable nets are being sent out clear-QAM, but not mapped to the digital boxes yet.

Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3