Digital Simulcast Information - Comcast - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 80 Old 10-04-2005, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Motorola's DTC700...

"The DCT700 is an all-digital set-top that provides operators with a quick and cost-effective means of realizing the benefits of an all-digital network. These benefits include increased bandwidth for high-definition and video-on-demand (VOD) content, on-demand information and entertainment services, as well as a reduction in theft of video services."

http://broadband.motorola.com/noflash/DCT700.html

BTW, all analogs except the TV Guide Channel are now being DS'ed here in Minneapolis/St. Paul.
blitzen102 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 80 Old 10-08-2005, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
ssetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Natick, Massachusetts
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I know of some areas in the Boston area that have been completed, but my area hasn't. I was also told that channels like the local access channels WILL NOT change. Have they changed for you, scanpa?
ssetta is offline  
post #63 of 80 Old 10-08-2005, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssetta
Well, I know of some areas in the Boston area that have been completed, but my area hasn't. I was also told that channels like the local access channels WILL NOT change. Have they changed for you, scanpa?

Yes all 69 Analog CH are now simulcast in Digital.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #64 of 80 Old 11-21-2005, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Comcast here in Minneapolis/St. Paul is now deploying the DCT700 and DCT3412 (digital-only) STBs and DVRs.
blitzen102 is offline  
post #65 of 80 Old 11-21-2005, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzen102
Comcast here in Minneapolis/St. Paul is now deploying the DCT700 and DCT6412 (digital-only) STBs and DVRs.
I am sure you ment 3412......

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #66 of 80 Old 11-22-2005, 07:19 PM
Newbie
 
stpauldvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just had Comcast St. Paul install the DCT6412. The HD Channels are great. The digital channels are fine. They told be they switched the 1-100 channels to digital - the reason I switched to Comcast. The 1-100 channels aren't clear, especially the when watching Football and Basketball - ghost images. The box is connected via the YpbPr component ports. I tried this switch in the past when the 1-100 channels were analog and was told that the DCT6412 doesn't convert analog channels. If have a Mitsubishi WS-65713 Platinum TV. Any idea's on how to clear up the picture?
stpauldvr is offline  
post #67 of 80 Old 11-28-2005, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by scanpa
I am sure you ment 3412......
Yep - sorry.
blitzen102 is offline  
post #68 of 80 Old 11-28-2005, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
We have 3412's and 700's here too. I still have a 6412 and swapped my 22xx for a 700. Comcast has done a terrific job with ADS. Congrats are in order.
markjrenna is offline  
post #69 of 80 Old 11-28-2005, 11:48 PM
Senior Member
 
rcodey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Orange,NJ
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the capacity of the DCT-700 harddrive?
rcodey is offline  
post #70 of 80 Old 11-29-2005, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcodey
What is the capacity of the DCT-700 harddrive?
The DCT-700 does not have a hard Drive.

It is the plain jane Digital cable box.

The 3412 is the All digital Cable Box with 120gb HD, duel tuner, HD.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #71 of 80 Old 11-29-2005, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RalphArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockville MD
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna
We have 3412's and 700's here too. I still have a 6412 and swapped my 22xx for a 700. Comcast has done a terrific job with ADS. Congrats are in order.
Mark -

I am trying to prognosticate the future when ADS comes to my locale (COMCAST as well). Are most of the ADS channels besides the locals=OTA encrypted in your area? Someone in SF mentioned quite a few were in the clear - which would make my MyHD QAM tuner capablity much enhanced if there were quite a bit in the clear.
RalphArch is offline  
post #72 of 80 Old 11-29-2005, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by RalphArch
Mark -

I am trying to prognosticate the future when ADS comes to my locale (COMCAST as well). Are most of the ADS channels besides the locals=OTA encrypted in your area? Someone in SF mentioned quite a few were in the clear - which would make my MyHD QAM tuner capablity much enhanced if there were quite a bit in the clear.
Most channels are not encrypted. You will be pleased to know that many channels (at this point in time) are "In the Clear".
markjrenna is offline  
post #73 of 80 Old 12-30-2005, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The easiest way to tell if a channel is digital it to look for the Dolby digital double D. It only appears on the digital channels on my Moto 6200. The only channel that is simulcast in digital is HBO channel 38 so far in Montgomery County, MD. The reason for this is the 6200 cannot descramble an analog signal. Hopefully most of the analog channels will be replace by digital soon.
PaulGo is offline  
post #74 of 80 Old 12-30-2005, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulGo
The easiest way to tell if a channel is digital it to look for the Dolby digital double D. It only appears on the digital channels on my Moto 6200. The only channel that is simulcast in digital is HBO channel 38 so far in Montgomery County, MD. The reason for this is the 6200 cannot descramble an analog signal. Hopefully most of the analog channels will be replace by digital soon.
The DCT-6200 STB is a Combo Analog / Digital Cable Box.

The DCT-700 & DCT-34xx are the only Motorola Cable Box that Do Not Do Analog..... They are strictly for Digital Cable systems.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #75 of 80 Old 12-31-2005, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
hondo21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Jeannette, PA
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, 2005 is done. So when is the rollout of DS to other areas going to happen? Comcast here out of Greensburg PA appears to be still all ANALOG in the lower channels (I didn't check them all - is there a way to go through the channels while in the diagnostic screen?). The poor PQ would indicate the same. Lots of video noise on the analog channels. I'd love to have TCM and a few others in digital.
hondo21 is offline  
post #76 of 80 Old 12-31-2005, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ssetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Natick, Massachusetts
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sure know that feeling. My area is the same way. They did a few channels back in April, and promised to add more quite awhile back, but they NEVER did. And they DID plan to have all areas done by the end of this year, and for "this year" we have less than 6 hours left, and still no ADS. NOW they plan to have everything done by the beginning of Spring, but the question is:

WILL THEY???
ssetta is offline  
post #77 of 80 Old 12-31-2005, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hondo21
Well, 2005 is done. So when is the rollout of DS to other areas going to happen? Comcast here out of Greensburg PA appears to be still all ANALOG in the lower channels (I didn't check them all - is there a way to go through the channels while in the diagnostic screen?). The poor PQ would indicate the same. Lots of video noise on the analog channels. I'd love to have TCM and a few others in digital.
Some Comcast areas have been having equipment problems at the head end plant. Once those problems are resolved, then ADS will be enabled in those areas.

Happy New Years to everyone.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #78 of 80 Old 01-24-2006, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RalphArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockville MD
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
COMCAST Montgomery County MD now has ADS - local thread
RalphArch is offline  
post #79 of 80 Old 05-11-2006, 03:04 PM
Member
 
NickDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
COMCAST in San Ramon, CA now has ADS. Just happened this week.
NickDG is offline  
post #80 of 80 Old 05-11-2006, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA US
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
COMCAST in Sacramento has started ADS. Just the locals at this time, however a couple of the cable nets are being sent out clear-QAM, but not mapped to the digital boxes yet.
nightowl is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off