Digital Simulcast Information - Comcast - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 80 Old 01-24-2005, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

In my area they have started to test Digital Simulcasting. Channel 24 which is ShopNBC is being Digitally Simulcast.

General Information on DS.

No STB or an Analog STB = 24 is analog

Digital STB = 24 is Digital. The signal comes in QAM (in this case 64 QAM) and you see it Digitally on 24.

Since the signal (from the originator) 24 is sending is still analog, a Headend conversion needs to take place to convert it to digital. It won't be as good as a digital signal, of course. But, should, and I say should, be better than its analog counter part. Since the HE receives the signal analog it will never be better than how they receive it. Only true digital from the originator will look the best.

It probably won't look as good as most all digital channels and even some analog channels will still look better. It all depends on the A to D conversion.

In my area they have some bugs to work out. Hopefully the Digital Simulcast will happen soon after.

One other note... I am able to buffer about 65 minutes of the Digitally Simulcast channel 24 on my 6412 DVR.

For those that want to see if a channel is analog or digital on a 6412 you can do the following:

Tune the 6412 to any channel. Turn the box off. Within 2 seconds hit "OK Select". You will be presented with a diagnostic screen. From this screen arrow to the following:

"IN-BAND STATUS" will indicate xxx QAM (Digital) otherwise it will indicate ANALOG

Also you can check "CURRENT CHANNEL STATUS" That will indicate DIGITAL and the higher frequency. Typically above 550 MHz.
markjrenna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 80 Old 01-27-2005, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the Harrisburg, Hershey, Lebanon Comcast areas, the testing of Going to ADS begins as soon as they get the DVR Freeze firmware patch installed early Feb 2005.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #3 of 80 Old 01-28-2005, 04:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

Confirming that CN8 on my system is now Digital (256 QAM) as well.

One might assume that Comcast is over some of the technical hurdles and slowly doing the transition.

We will have to check each channel more often to see how they are progressing.
markjrenna is offline  
post #4 of 80 Old 01-28-2005, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by markjrenna
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

Confirming that CN8 on my system is now Digital (256 QAM) as well.

One might assume that Comcast is over some of the technical hurdles and slowly doing the transition.

We will have to check each channel more often to see how they are progressing.
Just checked all the analog ch. here in the Comcast - Hershey Pa. Site, and none are in Digital yet! :(

at least there working on it.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #5 of 80 Old 01-29-2005, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by scanpa
Just checked all the analog ch. here in the Comcast - Hershey Pa. Site, and none are in Digital yet! :(

at least there working on it.
I can now report that Comcast Ch- 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 22, 47, 48 in the Hershey PA area are all simulcast in Digital. That is the HBO 1 & 2, SHO, TMC, MAX, STRS, Fox Sports Net, Comcast Sports-net.

Hope to see more ch go digital in the next week.

:)

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #6 of 80 Old 01-30-2005, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Confirming on my system that channel 15 WNJU is now Digital (QAM 256).

Here is what was Analog and now is Digital on my system as of today:

8 CN8 (QAM 256)
15 WNJU (QAM 256)
24 ShopNBC (QAM 64)
markjrenna is offline  
post #7 of 80 Old 01-31-2005, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

Here is what is Digital on my system as of today:

8 CN8 (QAM 256)
9 WWOR (QAM 256)
11 WPIX QAM 256)
13 WNET (QAM 256)
15 WNJU (QAM 256)
***24 ShopNBC (QAM 64)

*** Not Part of the A to D package at this time. None the less the channel is still Digital.
markjrenna is offline  
post #8 of 80 Old 02-01-2005, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

Looks like we are on hold till after the Super Bowl. Then the major networks are slated as well as all the remaining OTA's.
markjrenna is offline  
post #9 of 80 Old 02-08-2005, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast Simulcast info update:

All former simulcast channels are now back to just analog ch.

bummer.

Hope this is not a bad sign.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #10 of 80 Old 02-08-2005, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have also noticed that the DD / DD5.1 icon is no longer showing up in the Iguide qyick info, also all of the Digital Ch. that were in DD5.1 are now showing as DD2 & DD3 type sognals in my audio system display.....

Hope this was not due to the firmware update.....

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #11 of 80 Old 02-08-2005, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by scanpa
Have also noticed that the DD / DD5.1 icon is no longer showing up in the Iguide qyick info, also all of the Digital Ch. that were in DD5.1 are now showing as DD2 & DD3 type sognals in my audio system display.....

Hope this was not due to the firmware update.....
This has been resolved. Comcast Tech Support called me back and informed me how to restore my 5.1 audio, that was set to off by the firmware update.

:) :)

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #12 of 80 Old 02-08-2005, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by scanpa
This has been resolved. Comcast Tech Support called me back and informed me how to restore my 5.1 audio, that was set to off by the firmware update.

:) :)
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

Is it a secret, or can you tell the rest of us.
markjrenna is offline  
post #13 of 80 Old 02-08-2005, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by markjrenna
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

Is it a secret, or can you tell the rest of us.

see thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=506910

:)

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #14 of 80 Old 02-14-2005, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hmm.... this thread got quiet.

Anything happening out there anywhere? markj?
blitzen102 is offline  
post #15 of 80 Old 02-14-2005, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The same Ch, that were simulcasting before Superbowl are back simulcasting in my area. Nothing else has changed yet.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #16 of 80 Old 02-14-2005, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

Nothing new to report. As soon as I have it I will post it.
markjrenna is offline  
post #17 of 80 Old 02-14-2005, 08:06 PM
Member
 
HarleyJoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast NJ - Toms River/Stafford Twp

I was told by Comcast recently that we can expect simulcasting in our area sometime in March.
HarleyJoel is offline  
post #18 of 80 Old 02-15-2005, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by HarleyJoel
Comcast NJ - Toms River/Stafford Twp

I was told by Comcast recently that we can expect simulcasting in our area sometime in March.

Looks like comcast is working on a few more simulcasting ch here in the Hershey PA feed area, CNN, CNN 2 HN, BET, NBC shopping were off and on in digital mode today.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #19 of 80 Old 02-16-2005, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Linux23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the reason for them simulcasting a digital stream of the analog signal?

And why are they using QAM256 as the modulation method?

I just noticed the Pixelation tonight while watching Smallville on WPIX11.
Linux23 is offline  
post #20 of 80 Old 02-17-2005, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by Linux23
What is the reason for them simulcasting a digital stream of the analog signal?
So they can get rid of the analogs all-together and free up bandwidth for more digital channels.

Also, STBs will be cheaper if they can make them digital only and eliminate the analog components.
blitzen102 is offline  
post #21 of 80 Old 02-25-2005, 06:11 AM
Member
 
michaelggray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ocean County, NJ
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by HarleyJoel
Comcast NJ - Toms River/Stafford Twp

I was told by Comcast recently that we can expect simulcasting in our area sometime in March.
I'm currently getting the following in 480I in the Comcast NJ - Toms River/Stafford Twp area:

09 WWOR
11 WPIX
13 WNET
15 WPSG
24 WHYY
25 WNJN
27 WMCN
michaelggray is offline  
post #22 of 80 Old 03-03-2005, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
For those of you where DSA has started, did you get any notification (e-mail, message on STB, message on your bill) from Comcast about simulcasting starting - or are they essentially doing this as a "silent" rollout?
blitzen102 is offline  
post #23 of 80 Old 03-03-2005, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
markjrenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Verona, NJ
Posts: 911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by blitzen102
For those of you where DSA has started, did you get any notification (e-mail, message on STB, message on your bill) from Comcast about simulcasting starting - or are they essentially doing this as a "silent" rollout?
Comcast NJ - Union/Verona

It isn't public. Robert's said in an investment meeting that they are going to have DS done this year. Right now it is still in the testing phase.

Customers will be notified once they are rolling it out officially.
markjrenna is offline  
post #24 of 80 Old 03-03-2005, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington County NJ
Posts: 3,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Customers will be notified once they are rolling it out officially.
If the past is any indication, customers will be notified some time AFTER it's done and we here have already long since known about it.

ISF calibrated by Eliab - and lovin' it!

My DVD Profiler
maxman is offline  
post #25 of 80 Old 03-03-2005, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
maxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Burlington County NJ
Posts: 3,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by michaelggray
I'm currently getting the following in 480I in the Comcast NJ - Toms River/Stafford Twp area:

09 WWOR
11 WPIX
13 WNET
15 WPSG
24 WHYY
25 WNJN
27 WMCN
What does that have to do with simulcasting/digital? Both analog and SD digital are 480i - all of your channels other than HD are in 480i, at least they are here (Comcast - South Jersey - SA3250HD).

ISF calibrated by Eliab - and lovin' it!

My DVD Profiler
maxman is offline  
post #26 of 80 Old 03-03-2005, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by michaelggray
I'm currently getting the following in 480I in the Comcast NJ - Toms River/Stafford Twp area:

09 WWOR
11 WPIX
13 WNET
15 WPSG
24 WHYY
25 WNJN
27 WMCN
You need to do what markjrenna posted to see if a channel is digital or analog:

"For those that want to see if a channel is analog or digital on a 6412 you can do the following:

Tune the 6412 to any channel. Turn the box off. Within 2 seconds hit "OK Select". You will be presented with a diagnostic screen. From this screen arrow to the following:

"IN-BAND STATUS" will indicate xxx QAM (Digital) otherwise it will indicate ANALOG

Also you can check "CURRENT CHANNEL STATUS" That will indicate DIGITAL and the higher frequency. Typically above 550 MHz."
blitzen102 is offline  
post #27 of 80 Old 03-05-2005, 06:47 PM
Member
 
HarleyJoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll be able to tell if it's digital by the lack of squiggly lines on most of the channels.
HarleyJoel is offline  
post #28 of 80 Old 03-22-2005, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if their usb, ethernet, or IEEE ports work??
George is offline  
post #29 of 80 Old 03-22-2005, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scanpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE / SC PA
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by George
does anyone know if their usb, ethernet, or IEEE ports work??
Firewire only! NO usb, No ethernet.

---------------------------
Comcast of Lebanon PA.
scanpa is offline  
post #30 of 80 Old 03-31-2005, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blitzen102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
VERY quiet in here lately.

Did Comcast run into problems that require a hardware or software fix before they can proceed further??
blitzen102 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off