Can you connect toslink to coax? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2005, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
karpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do I connect my toslink digital audio output to my home theater system which only has for it's digital input S/PDIF coaxial? My new DVR only has toslink... Please help

Carol
karpa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2005, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
work permit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: ny,ny,usa
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I use a midiman co2 for this sort of conversion. They allow you to go both from optical to coax, or coax to optical.

Its overkill for what you want to do (since it goes both ways). There are cheaper solutions that will just convert optical to coax.

Alex
work permit is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
karpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks soooo much! You are a lifesaver!

Carol
karpa is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Thinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Peoria, IL USA
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've bought several of these things on eBay. ABout $15. Make sure you get the one you need: opt-to-coax is not the same as coax-to-opt.
Thinker is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
karpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Thinker!

Carol
karpa is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off