Looking to add SD standalone Tivo to HD Satellite setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 02-23-2005, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Take it easy on me, as I'm a real Tivo noob. I have a D* standard-def Tivo Series 2 receiver on my CRT tv, but would like to have some recording capability on my downstairs rig, which is a SIR-T360S HD satellite reciever feeding a DLP front-projection system.

To the point, I don't want to either pony up the $1K for the HD-Tivo receiver, or lose my HD reception capability by going with a standard-def Tivo/receiver. I'm thinking that a Tivo Series I might fit the bill. I would only be recording standard-def programming, of course, so the PQ isn't a concern.

I just want to know a couple of things that I haven't been able to find in my searching:

- Will running a Series I in-line before my HD receiver via coax still allow an HD signal to pass thru?

- Will it be practical to use a Series I Tivo this way, as a programmable VCR of sorts, without the Tivo service?

- Is there any way for me to record both satellite and OTA programming with this setup?

I'm wondering what sort of pitfalls I might encounter that I haven't thought about yet, and I know enough to know that I'm ignorant about this subject, so I'm asking!

Thanks,

- Danny
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 02-23-2005, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member

Save up your money and get the HR10-250, you will love it, SD SUCKS!!!!
post #3 of 5 Old 02-23-2005, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter

Okay, thanks for the tip... :rolleyes: Like I previously indicated, I'm not gonna pay - hell, I'm not gonna pay $100 for this, so I'm looking at used Series 1 boxes.

Now, back to my original questions...

- Danny
post #4 of 5 Old 03-08-2005, 02:14 PM