Comcast 6412 issues and questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-17-2005, 04:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Moxiecarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got the 6412 and started using it for a few days. I had a few issues that I didn't see any good responses to on the forum.

1.) Shows on the same channel multiple times per day - If you set a series recording, it will record every showing on the channel. For example, Daily Show is on Comedy Central 2 times a day. I just want the one at 11pm. There doesn't seem to be a "record every day at 11pm on channel 61".

2.) Which tuner am I on? - I had American Idol set to record last night. We were watching something and at 7:59pm I expected to get a notification that it would begin recording and that it would change the channel for me. Instead, it seems that the other tuner started recording. Is there a way to get notified if something is going to record on the other tuner so I can switch to it and watch it or do I just have to look for the recording light to come on?

3.) No clock while recording - So I started watching Idol but I was still recording it for my wife. While it was recording, "rEC" is displayed rather than the clock. Any way to always show the clock?

4.) Is there a way to get notifications that a program is also available on HD? Like if I start watching something on Fox standard def, do I just need to remember to check the high def channel? Why not just replace the standard def channels with HD, I'd always want to watch in HD if available.
Moxiecarn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-20-2005, 05:26 AM
Newbie
 
avocats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We have same problems, esp. the multiple recordings of a single show shown more than once per day (e.g., The Daily Show, Oprah).

Has ANYBODY any idea how to deal with this? :confused:
avocats is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 08-20-2005, 08:01 AM
Member
 
hearncl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same problem, as do many others. Faulty series recording is a common complaint. The problem is with the service that provides the program information, not the 6412--shows are not flagged as repeats. Hopefully this will improve in the future. I believe the only way around this at present is to set manual recordings.

The Swap button on the remote switches tuners. But the DVR won't change tuners automatically if a recording starts on the second tuner. That's reasonable, considering that you can always watch the recorded program later. (On the same subject, I've had occasional problems with trying to set two recordings at the same time. Sometimes it works, but sometimes it won't let me set the second program to record without deleting the other scheduled recording.)
hearncl is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off