HD PVR with built in DVD recorder? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 03-17-2005, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First time posting on this site, please be kind as I have little knowledge of AV.
I am in the process of purchasing a new TV, PVR, DVD player, and receiver for my home. Is there such thing as a PVR that can record in HD and also be able to burn regular tv programs to DVD's. If not, I am having trouble deciding whether to get a HD DVR box from Time Warner or purchase a DVD recorder with a hard drive and basic Tivo.
Any suggestions?
My Tv also has 2 HDMI inputs. Can you recommend a HD PVR or hard drive dvd player that has HDMI outputs?
Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 03-28-2005, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member

The answer to your first question is no.

I would get the HD DVR from Timer Warner which will probably have an HDMI output BTW.
post #3 of 5 Old 04-04-2005, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I have a scientifis atlanta hd pvr which has a dvi output. You can buy a dvd recorder ( the prices have come way down) and transfer programs from your pvr to the recorder if you wish.

post #4 of 5 Old 04-04-2005, 01:45 PM

At least one manufacturer has announced such a box:

http://biz.yahoo.com/prnews/050402/clsa001.html?.v=1

henning
www.hdblog.net
post #5 of 5 Old 04-05-2005, 06:32 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"

Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally posted by atsu888
First time posting on this site, please be kind as I have little knowledge of AV.