DVI-D Cable and Channels 1-99 ?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 05-16-2005, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
DaveWM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A Comcast guy told me to go ahead and buy a DVI cable... It would give ALL of my channels better PQ. I've got a Comcast 6214 HDTV box and a Sammy DLP set.

HOWEVER...
I understand that channels 1-99 are analog...
I also understand that DVI-D cable is digital only.
So..... Does that mean that if I connect the box to the tv using DVI-D, that I will NOT be able to view channels 1-99?

I'm confused.
DaveWM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 05-19-2005, 07:31 AM
Member
 
skeester45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brownstown Twp, MI
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DaveWM,

You will get all of your channels. I have the Motoroal STB from Comcast and use the DVI output to my Sanyo Z2. It is true that many of the channels are analog, but the Motorola coverts these to digital before output to the display device. I think the HD looks fantastic with this cable, and the analog channels are actually watchable, even at 100". I bought my cable from one of the sponsors for this site. Very satisfied.
skeester45 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off