How do I check the firmware/software version of my SA8000HD? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-07-2005, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JeSTeR7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I keep getting the message DVI Alert: Your HDTV does not support HDCP

My TV clearly DOES support HDCP. I just want to see if it's a firmware issue or something else.
JeSTeR7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-07-2005, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Be sure to have the TV turned on first and running for a minute before turning on the DVR.
Joxer is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-29-2005, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Steven in NC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeSTeR7
I keep getting the message DVI Alert: Your HDTV does not support HDCP

My TV clearly DOES support HDCP. I just want to see if it's a firmware issue or something else.

Hi,

Did you ever get this resolved? I have the exact same issue and my TV also does support HDCP. I also have the same SA8000HD box.

Thanks.
Steven in NC is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-29-2005, 09:55 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven in NC
Hi,

Did you ever get this resolved? I have the exact same issue and my TV also does support HDCP. I also have the same SA8000HD box.
As far as i know, the DVI output is not activated on any of the SA8000HDs anywhere in the USA anyway so it won't work even if the TV is HDCP compliant. The DVR will only work when connected with Component. The newer SA8300HD does have an active DVI port so see if your cable company is offering it now (many are, including my provider).

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gallery -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-14-2005, 11:11 AM
Member
 
mrpman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same problem that happens a few times a week with the SA 8000HD DVR.

I usually keep my cable box in 480p mode.

Sometimes just flipping the channels makes it go away.

The full proof way is to change the cable box resolution to 720p or 1080i and it goes away.

Sometimes I do the change with the box tuned to a HD channel.

This should work.

As far as a fix, forget it, I have Comcast and they don't know anything, even their tech support, If it is not in their data base, they don't know what to do, they always want to send someone out to replace the box. Most of them have no idea of what Firmware is.

To find out what firmware you have do the following

On the box (NOT the remote), hold the center OK/Select button down until the message LED starts flashing. Then press the Info button. that puts the diagnostic pages on the screen of your TV. On the remote, press Page Up/Down to flip thru the screens. Press Exit to get back to watching TV. The software versions are on one of the pages. Please check and report back your SARA vers, and whether you have firewre working.

--hourglass



Hope that works for you....
mrpman is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off