Two Explorer 8300's seperate codes??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-02-2005, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sdsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need lots of Hd recording time so I added a Maxtor expander to my first 8300 and it worked perfectly. Am now adding a second 8300 and expander for even more HD recording time on the same HDTV. However, the remote works both at the same time. Can the code be changed? Other than covering up one while working with the other is there a workaround?
Thanks,
sdsilver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-04-2005, 06:30 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsilver
Need lots of Hd recording time so I added a Maxtor expander to my first 8300 and it worked perfectly. Am now adding a second 8300 and expander for even more HD recording time on the same HDTV. However, the remote works both at the same time. Can the code be changed? Other than covering up one while working with the other is there a workaround?
You cannot change the remote codes to make this work.

However i have two DVRs connected to the same TV (SA8000 & SA8000HD) and i simply leave one turned off while the other is turned on. When i want to switch from one to the other, i hit the Power key on the remote which "turns the on one off and the off one on" then i switch the TV to the other input. It works pretty well this way.

When you turn the DVR off, it really only disables the video outputs and remote sensor so it still does all it's recording and such even while turned off. Usually turning it off will preserve the buffer in the currently viewed tuner but the other tuner will often lose it's buffer but it's no big deal.

http://gallery.avsforum.com/data/502...PX50_Left1.jpg

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-10-2005, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sdsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a good solution. Will try it as my current plan was to add the IR extender and run it so the eye is far right. Then I would turn the remote to it when I want to control that particular box. Your solution is much better but I thought you couldn't shut off the box and still record. Thanks for the help.
sdsilver is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-10-2005, 07:28 PM
Newbie
 
mattwhitehcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ummm hire a proffesional to install a Home Theater Master MX series remote with MRF base station with IR routing
It will probably be less than $1000
The secret to getting it to work right is.........
HIRE AN AUTHORIZED DEALER TO BUY THE EQUIPMENT FROM AND HAVE THEM PROGRAM IT

Matt White
mnwhite at gvtc.com
mattwhitehcha is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-10-2005, 07:33 PM
Newbie
 
mattwhitehcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ummm hire a proffesional to install a Home Theater Master MX series remote with MRF base station with IR routing
It will probably be less than $1000
The secret to getting it to work right is.........
HIRE AN AUTHORIZED DEALER TO BUY THE EQUIPMENT FROM AND HAVE THEM PROGRAM IT
This is the best way to do it

Matt White
mnwhite at gvtc.com
mattwhitehcha is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-10-2005, 10:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
John P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Scientific Atlanta has an accessory called an "IR Extender Blue". The "IR Extender Blue" enables the STB to use an alternate set of IR codes. This would allow you to control each STB independently. You will find information on the SA Web site under 8300 user guides.
John P is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-24-2005, 11:52 AM
Member
 
tjtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you know where one can get the Scientific Atlanta "Ir Extender" or "Ir Extender Blue"? My cable company(cablevision) said that they do not have them
tjtv is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-25-2005, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
John P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjtv
Do you know where one can get the Scientific Atlanta "Ir Extender" or "Ir Extender Blue"? My cable company(cablevision) said that they do not have them
Suggest going to http://www.scientificatlanta.com and sign up for the Explorer Club.

You should then be able to access the following link for IR Extender Blue,
http://www.scientificatlanta.com/Exp...ted/736121.pdf

Then call SA and ask how you can buy one. Click the following link for phone numbers.
http://www.scientificatlanta.com/contactus/index.htm
John P is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-26-2005, 11:29 AM
Member
 
tjtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I was able to place an order on the website.
tjtv is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-29-2005, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where did you get the "IR Extender Blue", the only order link I could find on the website is for the "IR Extender"....?

The Dreamer

You may be a dreamer, but I'm The Dreamer, the definite article you might say!
TheDreamer is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off