Comcast DCT6412 III DVR Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-19-2005, 08:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cgriffith4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DCT 6412 III DVR with Comcast in Philadelphia and a Marantz SR5500 surround sound receiver. My DVR will not record anything in Dolby Digital for some reason. I have tried 2 different cable boxes and I am still having the same problem. For example, when I am watching something in Dolby Digital and hit pause on my DVR the audio and video stops. When I return to my program the surround mode changes from 5.1 Digital to 2 channel stereo and I get a "PCM" light on my receiver?

Also everything I record on my DVR records in 2 channel PCM?

How can I fix this? Is the problem the cable box or receiver?


Thanks
cgriffith4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-14-2005, 08:22 PM
Member
 
Dysan911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have any solution to this issue? I just got my Comcast DVR today and noticed the exact same thing!.

Thanks!
Brian.
Dysan911 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-18-2005, 09:01 AM
Member
 
hoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is a problem with the firmware on the box. I have insight and had the same problem but my firmware has been updated since then. I have firmware 12.22 I believe which is the known firmware update that fixes the problem you have. Common problem that many people are waiting for their cable companies to get off the behinds and make it right. The whole deal with DD not working correctly had me so fired up with my cable company I can hardly type this post without getting a little pissed about it.
hoggy is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-18-2005, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Dysan911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update.. I finally discovered a workaround after many hours of research on this issue. Right now I'm using the Optical for Audio like I've always done but for video I'm using the Component Cables instead of the HDMI. Seems the quality is still very high.. Doubtful that I can tell the difference but at least my 5.1 is not dropping out when I pause, resume, etc. My Firmware is 12.18 ohhh So close but when I called comcast they didn't seem to know jack about any firmware updates.

B.
Dysan911 is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Recorders (PVRs) General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off